PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HELP - how do I fool ubuntu/nautilus into thinking 2 disks are one ?

Debiant666
June 15th, 2009, 11:53 PM
Help !

Hi I am completely new to ubuntu & linux so please bear with if I sound a bit thick like.

I have recently installed Jaunty with WUBI and was wondering if I could fool Nautilus into thinking 2 disks are 1. I have a poor mans Raid card a sil0680 medley raid for my data and music disk which works OK under windows. I am not sure how nautilus handles creating it's mount points and wanted to know whether I can force Nautilus into only displaying 1 removable disk instead of 2 and creating a mount point which points to both disks (poor mans raid) .

Or even better - can anyone tell me how to get the raid card working under ubuntu !!

Thanks in advance

mgmiller
June 16th, 2009, 12:27 AM
The package is called dmraid. Here is a link that may help get you started.
I have no personal experiance using dmraid. Only real hardware raid. Hope this helps:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto

porchrat
June 16th, 2009, 12:29 AM
Help !

Hi I am completely new to ubuntu & linux so please bear with if I sound a bit thick like.

I have recently installed Jaunty with WUBI and was wondering if I could fool Nautilus into thinking 2 disks are 1. I have a poor mans Raid card a sil0680 medley raid for my data and music disk which works OK under windows. I am not sure how nautilus handles creating it's mount points and wanted to know whether I can force Nautilus into only displaying 1 removable disk instead of 2 and creating a mount point which points to both disks (poor mans raid) .

Or even better - can anyone tell me how to get the raid card working under ubuntu !!

Thanks in advance

Try dmraid...or mdraid I forget which. Although as far as I recall Ubuntu needs to format the drives to get it to work.

Debiant666
June 16th, 2009, 01:58 PM