PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] N For Novice

richie1913
June 15th, 2009, 07:08 PM
I have just ordered myself a copy of Ubuntu to use on my spare computer as I am sick to the back teeth of windows.I will be using It on my spare computer till I get used to It then I will be putting It onto my main computer,but I am a complete beginner In this area,I have used windows since I was In nappies,so I would like to ask a few basic questions,forgive me If they are way of mark.
1.I use usb dongles for my Internet connection will they still work
2.Will any of my programs still work,like Avira anti-virus or online armour.
3.Have you got any do not ever do this advice
Thanks Richard

SuperSonic4
June 15th, 2009, 07:14 PM
1. Depends on your hardware - test it out with a live CD to be more sure

2. Unlikely. It's considered that Ubuntu and Linux in general don't need protection from anti-malware software. Some simply won't work, some may requite tinkering, some will run under wine, some have linux versions (like firefox/skype) but in nearly all cases there is open source software that works :)

3. Do not run any commands you don't know - especially
sudo rm -rf /

richie1913
June 15th, 2009, 07:27 PM
Thanks,when the C.D. arrives I will try It out,I just know I am going to get stuck but I know where to come for help,I can't believe how many members there are on this forum.A great pool of knowledge just waiting for me to tap Into(and I will need to do that alot me thinks)

jperez
June 15th, 2009, 07:33 PM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Linux community, one of the many Linux communities out there, but the only one to have cookies and pie in one sitting...or perhaps cake and tea.