PDA

View Full Version : [other] Openbox questions

37fleetwood
June 13th, 2009, 10:19 AM
I recently posted a thread with all the window managers and desktop environments I could get going. recently I was playing with Openbox and ran into a curious thing at least to me. I decided to set Nautilus as the pinboard instead of Rox. well the problem is when you do this you lose the Openbox menus and end up with the Nautilus right click context menu, ie you lose the ability to launch applications except through the terminal which I'm not that good at. this gave me an idea, I created a launcher on the desktop for Gnome-panel. when I clicked it voila! it looked just like my Gnome desktop! well sort of, some things were a bit different. one of the things that didn't work were the shut down/logout commands for Gnome on the panel. it was kinda cool as it was fast like Openbox but looked like Gnome. (I guess I could have as easily started the Xfce4-panel, LXPanel etc.
ok, the questions, if someone is interested in going into this, if not I understand.
is there any advantage to running Openbox if you just clutter it up with docks, panels and pinboards etc? (I may not have put that right)
is there any way to go back after you set Rox or Nautilus etc. as the pinboard?
if I decided to play with this some more what would the code look like to get the user switcher functioning properly and how would I go about it?
and finally is there a way to keep from altering my Gnome desktop while in Openbox or one of the others? I'm afraid I'm going to make changes and have them come back to haunt me when I log back into Gnome.
thanks!
Scott

Mark76
June 13th, 2009, 10:38 AM
Have you tried using Thunar or PCManFM as the desktop manager?

37fleetwood
June 13th, 2009, 10:35 PM