PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Adding KDE to Ubuntu

sandman3838
June 12th, 2009, 12:32 AM
Hey everyone!

What do you all think about adding KDE to Ubuntu.
KDE desktop environment looks interesting.

I came across thins link:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/kde

What do you all think, is KDE worth it?

Thanks

merlinus
June 12th, 2009, 12:55 AM
If you use psychocat's method, you can try it and easily get rid of it if you do not like it.

Same with xubuntu (xfce)...

aged hippy
June 12th, 2009, 08:51 AM
I've used Kubuntu for some time now, and to follow the instructions to install the Kubuntu desktop is a piece of cake. :D

It runs alongside Ubuntu flawlessly, a simple matter of selecting which environment you want for thee current session.

I recommend it.... highly. :D

ianmillington
June 12th, 2009, 04:23 PM
Hi

I've been using kubuntu for just over 3 years now. Aged Hippy will know me as The Liquidator (damn! wish I could change my name on this forum to be consistent!). KDE rocks, and if you go to the current version (4.2.4) I would say it's now stable.

I'm going to do a reinstall tonight as I've got some tidying up to do -I have both kubuntu and ubuntu disks. Is there any benefit in using one or the other?

Thanks

aged hippy
June 12th, 2009, 05:22 PM
Hi Liquidator :D

There can be some minor problems with the KDE desktop, i experience a lot of freezes (when booted into Hardy/KDE 3.5) when using Firefox, but only after i install Flash and Java, etc.

I find that Ubuntu with the KDE desktop added doesn't have as many freezes as Kubuntu installed by itself, even with exactly the same Flash/Java installed.
It has only happened twice in over a week, with Hardy it was 4 - 5 times a day. :(