PDA

View Full Version : Programming in Linux

P1umb3r
June 6th, 2009, 10:11 PM
I see many people in this forum saying that programming in Linux is far superior to programming in Windows. Why is this exactly?

*about to enter college for Comp Sci major* ;)

kvarley
June 6th, 2009, 10:18 PM
I'm not a hardcore coder but from my experience it's much easier to use the tools to create applications as well as compiling as you don't need to mess around with VisualBasic studio.

The apps are free aswell!

For coding:

sudo apt-get install quata

For graphical interface coding:

sudo apt-get install glade

Viva
June 6th, 2009, 10:18 PM
Most linux distros come with python pre installed, it only takes a few hundred lines of code to create working applications using python.

PurposeOfReason
June 6th, 2009, 10:20 PM
They're lying. End of story. If you can program in one environment, you can for any. Now programming for Windows vs. Linux brings out differences, but still not enough that any competent programmer would care. Really, the only difference for me in I use notepad++ in Windows and vim in linux.

Congrats on getting into wherever you did. I will tell you now though, a CS major is not programming major, there is no such thing. At most, you will take 5 programming classes. Probably less. You'll learn something basic and just be expected to do it.

I'm not a hardcore coder but from my experience it's much easier to use the tools to create applications as well as compiling as you don't need to mess around with VisualBasic studio.
You don't need to use VB studio . . .

DeadSuperHero
June 6th, 2009, 10:50 PM
Well, as stated above, many tools are available for free. Linux is flexible in the sense that it has more Free libraries, toolkits, plugins, frameworks, and languages. There are a ridiculous amount of IDEs, and the compiler in the system is basically universal across IDEs and toolkits, as long as you have the language bindings.