PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual Boot Doesn't Boot



Pbethe
June 6th, 2009, 02:59 PM
I have this old computer that was running Windows 98. My goal is to have a dual boot of xubuntu 9.04 and Windows 98. I went through the steps of the install, then walked away from the computer while it was doing the repartitioning. When I came back it was unsuccessfully trying to update packages. I never did see a message indicating that the install was done.

Now, when I reboot there is no indication that linux has been installed. I see the old Windows 98 options and a message telling me to use safe mode. When I try regular mode, it hangs. In safe mode I can see that my hard drive has been repartitioned. C: now has 40 Gbytes, just like I wanted.

Now, I have rebooted from the live CD. This is what I have:

ubuntu
description: Computer
product: VT82C692BX
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
width: 32 bits
capabilities: smbios-2.2 dmi-2.2
configuration: boot=normal
*-core
description: Motherboard
product: 693-596-ITE8661
physical id: 0
slot: �
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: Award Software International, Inc.
physical id: 0
version: 4.51 PG (06/05/00)
size: 128KiB
capacity: 192KiB
capabilities: isa pci pnp apm upgrade shadowing escd cdboot bootselect socketedrom edd int13floppy360 int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer int10video acpi usb agp ls120boot zipboot biosbootspecification
*-cpu
description: CPU
product: Celeron (Coppermine)
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: 6.8.3
slot: SLOT 1
size: 566MHz
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse up
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: 0
size: 32KiB
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 1
size: 128KiB
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: a
slot: Internal Cache
size: 32KiB
capacity: 32KiB
capabilities: synchronous internal write-back
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: b
slot: External Cache
size: 128KiB
capacity: 2MiB
capabilities: synchronous external write-back
*-memory
description: System Memory
physical id: 1f
slot: System board or motherboard
size: 384MiB
*-bank:0
description: DIMM EDRAM
physical id: 0
slot: BANK_0
size: 128MiB
*-bank:1
description: DIMM EDRAM
physical id: 1
slot: BANK_1
size: 128MiB
*-bank:2
description: DIMM EDRAM
physical id: 2
slot: BANK_2
size: 128MiB
*-bank:3
description: DIMM EDRAM [empty]
physical id: 3
slot: BANK_3
*-pci:0
description: Host bridge
product: VT82C693A/694x [Apollo PRO133x]
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 100
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: 44
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
configuration: driver=agpgart-via module=via_agp
*-pci
description: PCI bridge
product: VT82C598/694x [Apollo MVP3/Pro133x AGP]
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pci pm bus_master cap_list
*-display UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X
vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 5c
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: agp agp-1.0 bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=32 mingnt=8
*-isa
description: ISA bridge
product: VT82C596 ISA [Mobile South]
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 7
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.0
version: 23
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: isa bus_master
configuration: latency=0
*-ide
description: IDE interface
product: VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 7.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.1
logical name: scsi0
logical name: scsi1
version: 10
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: ide pm bus_master cap_list emulated
configuration: driver=pata_via latency=32
*-disk
description: ATA Disk
product: WDC WD1200JB-00G
vendor: Western Digital
physical id: 0.0.0
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/sda
version: 08.0
serial: WD-WCALK1219681
size: 111GiB (120GB)
capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=00022c55
*-volume:0
description: Windows FAT volume
vendor: MSWIN4.1
physical id: 1
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0,1
logical name: /dev/sda1
version: FAT32
serial: 2d10-09f6
size: 40GiB
capacity: 40GiB
capabilities: primary bootable fat initialized
configuration: FATs=2 filesystem=fat
*-volume:1
description: Extended partition
physical id: 2
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0,2
logical name: /dev/sda2
size: 71GiB
capacity: 71GiB
capabilities: primary extended partitioned partitioned:extended
*-logicalvolume:0
description: Linux filesystem partition
physical id: 5
logical name: /dev/sda5
capacity: 70GiB
*-logicalvolume:1
description: Linux swap / Solaris partition
physical id: 6
logical name: /dev/sda6
capacity: 1090MiB
capabilities: nofs
*-cdrom
description: SCSI CD-ROM
physical id: 0.1.0
bus info: scsi@1:0.1.0
logical name: /dev/cdrom
logical name: /dev/scd0
logical name: /dev/sr0
logical name: /cdrom
capabilities: audio
configuration: mount.fstype=iso9660 mount.options=ro,noatime state=mounted status=ready
*-usb
description: USB Controller
product: VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 7.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.2
version: 11
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=uhci_hcd latency=32 module=uhci_hcd
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller
vendor: National Semiconductor Corporation
physical id: 11
bus info: pci@0000:00:11.0
logical name: eth0
version: 00
serial: 00:a0:cc:e0:6d:2e
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii fibre 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=natsemi driverversion=2.1 duplex=full ip=192.168.2.2 latency=32 link=yes maxlatency=52 mingnt=11 module=natsemi multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
*-pci:1
description: Host bridge
product: VT82C596 Power Management
vendor: VIA Technologies, Inc.
physical id: 101
bus info: pci@0000:00:07.3
version: 30
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: pan0
serial: 9a:da:e3:63:ab:eb
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A link=yes multicast=yes

swapon -s
Filename Type Size Used Priority
/dev/ramzswap0 partition 95008 94292 100
/dev/sda6 partition 1116476 93940 -1

I have a clone of the hard disk from before the install. Should I just start over, or is there a way to get the boot loader working?

Bucky Ball
June 6th, 2009, 03:06 PM
Could you please post the result of:


sudo blkid... and the file:


nano /boot/grub/menu.lst

Pbethe
June 6th, 2009, 03:34 PM
Right now I don't have a /boot/grub directory. I guess I need to mount one of the new partitions.

cd /boot
ubuntu@ubuntu:/boot$ ls
abi-2.6.28-11-generic System.map-2.6.28-11-generic
config-2.6.28-11-generic vmcoreinfo-2.6.28-11-generic
memtest86+.bin
ubuntu@ubuntu:/boot$ free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 371 366 4 0 10 91
-/+ buffers/cache: 265 105
Swap: 1183 315 867
ubuntu@ubuntu:/boot$ sudo blkid
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sda1: LABEL="120_GB" UUID="2D10-09F6" TYPE="vfat"
/dev/sda5: UUID="f5fea9fc-fb3d-4505-972e-24d18738dd11" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda6: UUID="96c101c8-5f22-48c4-85b2-afae1ee3a6a9" TYPE="swap"
/dev/ramzswap0: TYPE="swap"

philinux
June 6th, 2009, 03:45 PM
Get the super grub disk or usb version and use it to install grub. Looks like the installer fail to do this.

http://www.supergrubdisk.org/w/index.php5?title=GrubNotInstalled

Bucky Ball
June 6th, 2009, 03:47 PM
As philinux said, and also, this confuses me:


/dev/loop0

and

/dev/ramzswap0: TYPE="swap"Not sure what they are. Something odd appears to be happening. Have you a separate swap for Windows?

night_fox
June 6th, 2009, 04:11 PM
Pbethe, firstly do what Philinux said.

Failing that, I think the /boot you looked at might have been on the live cd. Mount the linux filesystem using


mkdir /media/<WHATEVER>
mount -t ext3 /dev/sda5 /media/<WHATEVER>
cat /media/<WHATEVER>/boot/grub/menu.lst

replace <WHATEVER> with anything you like


Bucky Ball:
/dev/loop0 is where the live cd filesystem image has been mounted. The livecd filesystem is squashfs, a highly compressed, read-only filesystem.

Pbethe
June 6th, 2009, 04:13 PM
As philinux said, and also, this confuses me:


/dev/loop0

and

/dev/ramzswap0: TYPE="swap"Not sure what they are. Something odd appears to be happening. Have you a separate swap for Windows?

When I boot from the CD, it creates a swap in RAMDISK. I never had understood that one. I takes some of my memory to make up for the fact that I don't have much memory. The swap partition, sda6, is what xubuntu created for me. I started out with one fat32 partition with 120,000,000,000 bytes.

Pbethe
June 6th, 2009, 04:31 PM
Pbethe, firstly do what Philinux said.

Failing that, I think the /boot you looked at might have been on the live cd. Mount the linux filesystem using



replace <WHATEVER> with anything you like


Bucky Ball:
/dev/loop0 is where the live cd filesystem image has been mounted. The livecd filesystem is squashfs, a highly compressed, read-only filesystem.

This is what I have now:

ubuntu@ubuntu:/media/sda5/boot$ sudo ls -l
total 5612
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 529118 2009-04-17 03:41 abi-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 96795 2009-04-17 03:41 config-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 128796 2009-03-27 17:15 memtest86+.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1456232 2009-04-17 03:41 System.map-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1074 2009-04-17 03:43 vmcoreinfo-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3501776 2009-04-17 03:41 vmlinuz-2.6.28-11-generic
ubuntu@ubuntu:/media/sda5/boot$ df -k
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 190016 2392 187624 2% /lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/volatile
tmpfs 190016 2392 187624 2% /lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/volatile
tmpfs 190016 0 190016 0% /lib/init/rw
varrun 190016 108 189908 1% /var/run
varlock 190016 0 190016 0% /var/lock
udev 190016 148 189868 1% /dev
tmpfs 190016 0 190016 0% /dev/shm
rootfs 190016 182096 7920 96% /
/dev/sr0 631804 631804 0 100% /cdrom
/dev/loop0 606720 606720 0 100% /rofs
tmpfs 190016 8 190008 1% /tmp
/dev/sda5 72959868 1963964 67289712 3% /media/sda5

It looks like I have partitions, but still no grub directory.

night_fox
June 6th, 2009, 04:46 PM
Yeah then you definitely need to reinstall grub. Use this link which Philinux just gave you. http://www.supergrubdisk.org/w/index.php5?title=GrubNotInstalled

Pbethe
June 8th, 2009, 12:45 AM
Penguinistas,

Things are looking better. I rebooted without the CD or any removable media, and it put me into Windows. Now, I can try Super Grub starting with a working MBR.

Thanks to all,
Paul

Pbethe
June 14th, 2009, 07:25 PM
Phil, or anyone still reading this thread,

I am having trouble figuring out Supe Grub Disk. To recap, this is what I have in boot of the Ext3 partition of my hard drive:

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 529118 2009-04-17 03:41 abi-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 96795 2009-04-17 03:41 config-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 128796 2009-03-27 17:15 memtest86+.bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1456232 2009-04-17 03:41 System.map-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1074 2009-04-17 03:43 vmcoreinfo-2.6.28-11-generic
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3501776 2009-04-17 03:41 vmlinuz-2.6.28-11-generic

I have been getting "file not found" errors when I try to boot with the diskette. I hope there is a way to make this work, because now, neither my BIOS nor Windows 98 can see a CD in my drive. They know that I have a CD drive but act as if it is always empty.

Pbethe
June 20th, 2009, 10:35 PM
Bump

That Super Grub Disk seems just fine, but I still can't boot. It appears that the problem is that I do not have a initrd file on my xubuntu partition. Are there any SGD experts out there?

Oh, when I listen closely, I hear a sound like a woodpecker coming out of my CD drive. I am hoping that the Super Grub diskette will bail me out of this one. In the mean time I can boot into Windows and try to reistall drivers for the CD, but I doubt that that will help.

Bucky Ball
June 21st, 2009, 06:55 AM
Me either. Sounds like the woodpecker might have got the better of your optical drive; it happens, just like that.

Can you boot from any CD in that drive?

Pbethe
June 21st, 2009, 04:32 PM
Me either. Sounds like the woodpecker might have got the better of your optical drive; it happens, just like that.

Can you boot from any CD in that drive?

No, if I boot with a CD in the drive, it tries a good, long time to boot from it but cannot read the CD. Then it boots into Windows and acts as though the drive is empty.

If I can boot up linux, I can try to mount the drive and read a CD. If that fails, I'll know that I have a hardware problem.

LewRockwell
June 21st, 2009, 05:20 PM
you're dealing with legacy equipment(older) so you're troubleshooting options are greater as a result

you need a working optical drive so let's try this:

If you have a good drive laying around then put that in
If you have a source of CLEAN DRY AIR then open the drive, keep the drive open while the machine shuts down(you may need to try different sequences, I usually shut down to a prompt and then pull the power cord off the back), take the main cover off the machine, take it outside(or to an area where LOTS of dust can fly freely without upsetting anyone), and get rid of all that dust and debris from all over the machine

Pointers:
I use a vacuum cleaner with the flow reversed through the hose as my dry air blower(note: if you attempt this outside in cold weather then condensation will form on the internal components of the machine and that is bad, if it happens take the machine back inside and blow a fan over it til the condensation evaporates)

Some hair dryers have a "cool" setting that will work in a pinch

Some people use canned air but I don't like paying for air

Some people use electronics contact cleaner(CAN MUST SAY PLASTIC SAFE!) and I use that also for some washing/cleaning situations(WEAR SAFETY GLASSES OR GOOGLES AS IT WILL SPRAY BACK IN YOUR FACE!)

The big issue here is that you optical drive may just have a speck of dust on the "eye"(you might have even seen optical drive cleaning kits in the stores and they usually have a disk with a little soft brush on it for brushing the dust off the "eye")

In any event, if you haven't ever cleaned the insides of your machine(s) then this might be the time to do them all

You can scrub off the blades of the fans and the air inlets and outlets

If you feel up to it you can take the processor cooling fan off and do that area also(here you'll need to be careful and to take note of how the fan is mounted to the heatsink and how the heatsink is retained to the top of the processor)

The nice and easy ones are where the heatsink is retained and the fan is screwed or clipped or fastened somehow to JUST THE HEATSINK, and so when the fan is removed you don't disturb the HEAT TRANSFER PASTE that is between the underside of the heatsink and the top of the processor

ANYTIME THIS PASTE IS DISTURBED IT MUST BE CLEANED OFF AND NEW PASTE USED
(of course, if you've JUST put new paste on then just add a tiny bit more so it maintains a good coating)

here, the technician and the hobbyist will have a tube of this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007

(old compound/paste MUST be cleaned off and I just spray some contact cleaner on a piece of paper towel and use that to wipe off the heatsink, the processor needs a little more delicate care so I clean them off with Q-tips/cotton swaps sprayed with cleaner)

While you're blowing things out make sure you blow both ways through the power supply(I don't expect the average person to disassemble these but the technician/hobbyist will find it satisfying to do so)

Floppy drives seem to get quite filthy also

whew, that's enough for now

keep us posted

Bucky Ball
June 22nd, 2009, 06:31 AM
you're dealing with legacy equipment(older) so you're troubleshooting options are greater as a result

you need a working optical drive so let's try this:

If you have a good drive laying around then put that in


Good advice. If that one works you know the other is dead and may resurrect by cleaning (though doubtful).


If you have a source of CLEAN DRY AIR then open the drive, keep the drive open while the machine shuts down(you may need to try different sequences, I usually shut down to a prompt and then pull the power cord off the back),

There is a small hole on the front where you can push a straightened paper clip to release the disc tray. Just shut down and use that.


take the main cover off the machine, take it outside(or to an area where LOTS of dust can fly freely without upsetting anyone), and get rid of all that dust and debris from all over the machine

Good general advice but see not how this has anything to do with your current problem. Good general tip though.


Pointers:
I use a vacuum cleaner with the flow reversed through the hose as my dry air blower(note: if you attempt this outside in cold weather then condensation will form on the internal components of the machine and that is bad, if it happens take the machine back inside and blow a fan over it til the condensation evaporates) Some hair dryers have a "cool" setting that will work in a pinch. Some people use canned air but I don't like paying for air

Just DO NOT take the machine outside if there is any chance of condensation. The only air being blown into a machine should be from a can of compressed air, for very good reason. Blowing air of any kind into the box should be avoided unless necessary, canned air or not. There is a good chance of knocking something (especially with the end of a vacuum cleaner hose) without noticing and hard blasts of air can damage components also.


Some people use electronics contact cleaner(CAN MUST SAY PLASTIC SAFE!) and I use that also for some washing/cleaning situations(WEAR SAFETY GLASSES OR GOOGLES AS IT WILL SPRAY BACK IN YOUR FACE!)

! Washing and cleaning? Are you talking about inside the machine, with liquid blasting hard enough to spray back in your face? No, totally unnecessary procedure.


In any event, if you haven't ever cleaned the insides of your machine(s) then this might be the time to do them all

You can scrub off the blades of the fans and the air inlets and outlets

! You should blow out your machine with a can or air and that is it. The blades of fans should never be 'scrubbed off' with anything. If you misalign the blades of your CPU fan, you are in serious trouble.


If you feel up to it you can take the processor cooling fan off and do that area also(here you'll need to be careful and to take note of how the fan is mounted to the heatsink and how the heatsink is retained to the top of the processor)

The nice and easy ones are where the heatsink is retained and the fan is screwed or clipped or fastened somehow to JUST THE HEATSINK, and so when the fan is removed you don't disturb the HEAT TRANSFER PASTE that is between the underside of the heatsink and the top of the processor

ANYTIME THIS PASTE IS DISTURBED IT MUST BE CLEANED OFF AND NEW PASTE USED
(of course, if you've JUST put new paste on then just add a tiny bit more so it maintains a good coating)

here, the technician and the hobbyist will have a tube of this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007

(old compound/paste MUST be cleaned off and I just spray some contact cleaner on a piece of paper towel and use that to wipe off the heatsink, the processor needs a little more delicate care so I clean them off with Q-tips/cotton swaps sprayed with cleaner)

While you're blowing things out make sure you blow both ways through the power supply(I don't expect the average person to disassemble these but the technician/hobbyist will find it satisfying to do so)

Please, stick to the point or post a HOWTO: in the tutorials forum. This advice is confusing and potentially dangerous to hardware and humans, especially if the OP has little or no experience of sticking their hands in the box. Very little of this has anything to do with the problem.

The processor should NEVER be removed unless you have a very old machine and/or you are pretty sure the thermal paste (probably a thermal pad) is dodgy or dead (in which case your processor could be too). I would definitely not advise removing your CPU for cleaning purposes ever! There is nothing to clean. The hose on a can of compressed air gets back there easily. The area where the heatsink meets the processor is totally sealed so it can't get dirty. There is a chance of bending the pins taking the CPU out or back in, especially for the novice, cracking the board putting the fan back (all depending on how intricate the fixing mechanism), damaging other parts on the board; it is a job for someone who knows what they're doing or has had the chance to practice on old, dead components (something I always advise when it comes to first time CPU and heatsink installation).

Pbethe, your optical drive sounds like it is dead or more unlikely, dirty as no CD is working in it (and you are sure you have the BIOS set to boot from it). Is your hard drive set to boot second or third in the BIOS? If so it is checking the CD, malfunctioning and thinking there is nothing in there so skipping to the second boot device.

If you have another lying around, can you connect it up and give it a try? If not, a cleaning disk available cheaply and readily might help. If not, replace hardware. :)

Pbethe
June 23rd, 2009, 04:18 AM
Good general advice but see not how this has anything to do with your current problem. Good general tip though.


[stuff deleted]


your optical drive sounds like it is dead or more unlikely, dirty as no CD is working in it (and you are sure you have the BIOS set to boot from it). Is your hard drive set to boot second or third in the BIOS? If so it is checking the CD, malfunctioning and thinking there is nothing in there so skipping to the second boot device.

If you have another lying around, can you connect it up and give it a try? If not, a cleaning disk available cheaply and readily might help. If not, replace hardware. :)

It is trying to boot from the CD when I set it to do so. The hard drive is always the second choice. I had been hoping that a mistake in the BIOS settings was causing the CD problem, but this is looking more and more like a hardware problem. I have a can of compressed air. It sounds like a cleaning disk is worth a try.

It could be that the drive was failing when I first tried the install. I never did figure out what I did wrong.

Bucky Ball
June 23rd, 2009, 05:59 AM
The compressed air might help but doubting that. If it still won't boot any cds, you could just about take it as a given that optical drive is dead. Working out how old it is might give a clue there.

They are relatively inexpensive nowadays so a replacement might be called for. If you know of anyone who has an old one or one you could try out, I'd give that a go to make doubly sure. If another drive works fine, you've identified you problem.

And yes, the optical drive malfunctioning halfway through the install is going to give unpredictable results. Try again. :)

Pbethe
January 17th, 2010, 04:31 AM
I can't believe it. I got a hold of an unused CD drive, new in the box. After I installed it, it worked fine. I could boot a Knoppix CD and shut down normally. I could boot into Windows and read CDs. Then I booted my Xubuntu CD. It worked, and I could mount the ext3 partition that I had created. I logged out of linux, and now, the drive is behaving just like the old one had. I can put CDs in the drive, and the computer acts as though it is empty. I can't even boot from a CD. What next?

Pbethe
October 27th, 2010, 04:43 PM
Maybe I should try a third CD drive, and see what happens. If I buy one new with a warrenty, I have some protection if it dies, too. My worry would be compatabillity. I want something that my BIOS will recognize so that I can try Lubuntu Maverick. I know that I need ATA and not SATA. Is there anything else I need to know? I don't want to get something that will be incompatible was my hardware. Are there any brands that people recommend or advise against?