PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Adding workspaces



Jimleko211
June 5th, 2009, 10:30 PM
I've been liking the idea of workspaces, and I remember way back a few years ago when I used Feisty that there were 4 workspaces. And using compiz (or compiz-fusion as it is now), you could use the cube. I've installed Compiz-fusion, it works and all that, and when I switch work stations it brings up the cube like I want it to.

Except that I only have 2 workstations, so it only shows two screens. My "cube" is actually a 3D..thing, with two sides to it. I checked the workspaces manual, and it said the default was 4 and that you could add more via the preferences, both of which are false to me. Any help?

ubername
June 5th, 2009, 10:41 PM
Have you installed Compizconfig settings manager? (ccsm)
In general options got to the desktop size tab and set horizontal virtual size to 4 and the other two options ('vertical virtual size' and 'number of desktops') to 1. That should do it.

Jimleko211
June 5th, 2009, 10:43 PM
Thanks so much, it worked perfectly!

ubername
June 5th, 2009, 10:53 PM
Thanks so much, it worked perfectly!

Glad to help at last! I have received loads of help from these boards so it's nice to give back.