PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] error 17

devnull123
June 3rd, 2009, 10:31 PM
I recently installed Ubuntu. But i wanted to go back to windows, so i ran Gparted and deleted all partitions and made a new one,applied changes and i rebooted and tried to install xp via iso and i got error 17. what can i do to fix it? im a noob so can you be as specific as possible?

what is the ideal settings for the working xp partition?

i plan on re installing ubuntu later.

LewRockwell
June 3rd, 2009, 10:45 PM
just use the windoze disk to format the disk

devnull123
June 3rd, 2009, 10:56 PM
i cant the windows disk wont boot...when i deleted the original partition and tried to boot windows again i get the ubuntu error 17. i got gparted down to where it mentioned unallotted space but when a made the new partition and applied changes and rebooted i got error 17. no idea what to do.

anewguy
June 3rd, 2009, 11:02 PM
I recently installed Ubuntu. But i wanted to go back to windows, so i ran Gparted and deleted all partitions and made a new one,applied changes and i rebooted and tried to install xp via iso and i got error 17. what can i do to fix it? im a noob so can you be as specific as possible?

what is the ideal settings for the working xp partition?

i plan on re installing ubuntu later.

If you deleted all of the Ubuntu partitions, then what happened is this:

The master boot record on your boot (perhaps your only) hard disk says to load via grub from an Ubuntu partition. With the partition gone, grub can't find anyway to boot.

Is there a solution? Yes! So please don't worry about that. Now, I must admit that just off the top of my head I know about ways, but can't give you the specifics. 1 way is to use another PC, download a program called "fixmbr" from downloads.com, create a boot diskette or CD, place fixmbr on it, and after you boot from the media you can run fixmbr to correct it and you should be set to go.

There is also a way to do it while booted from the LiveCD.