PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.04 Wubi Install freezing on "Formatting swap space..."

DiegoVH
June 2nd, 2009, 06:59 PM
I'm attempting to install Jackalope from Windows 7. I selected a 20Gb install, on a 190Gb partition of a just-defragged 250Gb disk.

The processor is an AMD 64 - x2, so I'm installing from the AMD64 iso. The Windows portion of the install goes perfect, then, after rebooting, I'm stuck at a "Checking the installation..." window forever. "Installing system" gets stuck at 0% while "Formatting swap space in partition #1 of /host/ubuntu/disk...". I read a similar thread that suggested disk fragmentation might be a problem, but the disk's been defragged twice since I started attempting this.

I could do a "normal" install, but really, I'd feel much safer having Wubi handle setting up the dual boot. I'm not that good at computer wrangling. Any suggestions?

philinux
June 2nd, 2009, 07:27 PM
I think the problem might be windows 7.

markvdm
June 2nd, 2009, 07:31 PM
I had the same problem using Wubi on a Asus laptop. I wanted my sister to try out Ubuntu simply because it can teach a couple of good skills, but it just kept freezing in the same place. I had also defraged the drive prior to starting the install. I know Windows defrag is very basic, but it's all I had. Her current OS is XP with all the latest patches.

philinux
June 2nd, 2009, 07:33 PM
I'm attempting to install Jackalope from Windows 7. I selected a 20Gb install, on a 190Gb partition of a just-defragged 250Gb disk.

The processor is an AMD 64 - x2, so I'm installing from the AMD64 iso. The Windows portion of the install goes perfect, then, after rebooting, I'm stuck at a "Checking the installation..." window forever. "Installing system" gets stuck at 0% while "Formatting swap space in partition #1 of /host/ubuntu/disk...". I read a similar thread that suggested disk fragmentation might be a problem, but the disk's been defragged twice since I started attempting this.