PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Japanese do not work (Jaunty)

berdux
June 1st, 2009, 06:09 PM
Hello!

I have Ubuntu 9.04
i've been trying for some time now to install japanese input. I firstly went to System->Preferences->Keyboard and added japanese layout (i already had English and Greek), but nothing happened, when i selected Jpn it was inputing in english.

Then i went to System->Administration->Language Support and installed japanese language. even after that the SCIM toolbar did not show up when i selected Jpn. It does not show up even if i press Ctrl+Space.

I uninstaled/reinstaled the Jpn keyboard layout and the japanese language several times but i cannot make the SCIM toolbar appear. in System->Preferences there are options for SCIM toolbar but whatever i select it doesn't work.

do you have any suggestions?

thanks in advance :)

edit:
i've been using ubuntu for several months now
on my previous computer I had Japanese installed without encountering any such problem, it had ubuntu 8.10

Cardcaptor Stacey
June 1st, 2009, 06:22 PM
Have you tried this tutorial? http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?topic=3099856.0 Works great for me. Make sure you change skim to scim and it should work for Ubuntu.

berdux
June 1st, 2009, 06:48 PM
i cannot do most of these things... they are for interpid, and most apps and folders are for kubuntu or sth... i tried to add these by replacing interpid with jaunty.. but still i cannot type in japanese..

i fear that i have messed things up very much now :$

i tried things from this tutorial also but most things could not work
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=812552

berdux
June 1st, 2009, 06:56 PM
well after the last restart it seems to work...

James Keating
June 4th, 2009, 07:56 AM
In case you have further probems:

My experience with installing SCIM in 9.04 (Jaunty) was mostly simple. I added full Japanese support through Administration/Language Support, and SCIM worked fine with the standard set of packages.