PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Blank partition not showing when installing from live CD

mb1
June 1st, 2009, 05:17 AM
Hi,
I am a noob and am helping out a friend by installing Ubuntu on his desktop. His HD was partitioned when he installed Windows XP. I am using the Ubuntu live CD now and I was able to mount his windows partition, but the other empty partition does not show up when trying to install Ubuntu. Here is part of the o/p from the lshw command:

*-disk
description: ATA Disk
product: WDC WD6401AALS-0
vendor: Western Digital
physical id: 0.0.0
bus info: scsi@6:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/sda
version: 01.0
serial: WD-WCASY4667410
size: 596GiB (640GB)
capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=50c850c7
*-volume
description: Windows NTFS volume
physical id: 1
bus info: scsi@6:0.0.0,1
logical name: /dev/sda1
logical name: /media/disk
version: 3.1
serial: 7227b4f8-1b4b-424a-9e38-4727f1b63710
size: 488GiB
capacity: 488GiB
capabilities: primary bootable ntfs initialized
configuration: clustersize=4096 created=2009-04-03 00:00:54 filesystem=ntfs mount.fstype=fuseblk mount.options=rw,nosuid,nodev,user_id=0,group_id=0 ,allow_other,blksize=4096 state=mounted

Please kindly advice.

Didius Falco
June 1st, 2009, 05:22 AM
Please type
fdisk -l in the Terminal and post the output here.

Regards,

Didius

mb1
June 1st, 2009, 05:28 AM
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x50c850c7

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 63741 511999551 7 HPFS/NTFS
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

Didius Falco
June 1st, 2009, 05:32 AM
According to the output of that command, you only have one partition on that hard drive, and that's the windows partition.