PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Problem on Acer Aspire One netbook.



funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 01:12 PM
Hi

My wireless was working perfectly until a few days ago when I tried to install Sun virtual box and wine say that I could setup internet explorer on a virtual box.

It would not give me the wireless option. I was on 8.10 but last night upgraded to 9.04 thinking that it may sort the problem out. Now I can see the wireless options but I still cannot connect.

Any suggestions?

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 01:14 PM
forgot to mention that I am dual booting and can connect to my wireless WPA network from XP.

carcar1
May 29th, 2009, 02:47 PM
Many people are experiencing this problem.I have an acer aspire 5100 with the same card as the aspire one. The atheros ar5007eg. This card is very devious. How did you get it working in 8.10? If you are familiar with ndiswrapper that solution is easy. Because you have it working with xp just go to where the driver is located or google around for atheros ar5007eg ubuntu driver. Install ndiswrapper and and ndisgtk a gtk frontend for ndiswrapper. And simply fidn your inf file for your card and bam it should come back.

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 07:26 PM
I've got it working multiple times on 8.10 just by following the easy official tutorial.

how do I use ndiswrapper? I'm still new to ubuntu/linux.

MockY
May 29th, 2009, 07:31 PM
Why on earth would you willingly use IE when you already have Firefox installed. I am very confused to why you would go through that much trouble to use an inferior browser.
But if that is you choice, then IEs4Linux (http://www.tatanka.com.br/ies4linux/page/Main_Page) sounds like a much easier option. Unless IE7 is the browser you want to use.

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 07:39 PM
I need all IE versions as I want to make sure my sites are compatible.

MockY
May 29th, 2009, 07:58 PM
And you are developing these sites on a Acer Aspire One? Sorry, but I find that very odd.

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 08:04 PM
Sorry since when does it matter what machine you use to develop web pages?

I need help to connect to my wireless network and I think we going off the topic.

MockY
May 29th, 2009, 08:23 PM
Sorry for going off topic, but me personally would be completely frustrated developing webpages on a 8.9" screen. Does not sound at all effective.

On topic: I would install 9.04 from scratch and use VMWare. I have had bad experiences with Virtualbox in the past (though that would probably not be the case anymore) so I'm sticking with VMWare which I know works the way I want it. I just installed 9.04 from scratch on a Aspire One, and it all worked perfectly out of the box.

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 08:29 PM
I use a kVM switch so dont have to deal with small screen/keyboard only when I'm out and about. :P So now I know were you coming from :P

I think something has been corrupted with the drivers any commands I should try?

nothingspecial
May 29th, 2009, 08:40 PM
Same card, different box, (samsung nc10)

Try editing /etc/modules


sudo nano /etc/modules

and adding
ath5k to the bottom, my card broke after an update, that fixed it.

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 08:46 PM
when I typed
sudo nano /etc/modules I already have

lp
ath_pci

should I still add what said?

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 08:48 PM
ifconfig produces this

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:68:de:c5:55
inet addr:192.168.123.179 Bcast:192.168.123.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:68ff:fede:c555/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2640 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2431 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2901796 (2.9 MB) TX bytes:557396 (557.3 KB)
Interrupt:251

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:163 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:163 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:391383 (391.3 KB) TX bytes:391383 (391.3 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:23:4d:3d:43:13
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-23-4D-3D-43-13-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

funkyali
May 29th, 2009, 08:59 PM
lsmod |grep ath produces

ath_pci 99224 0
wlan 210288 1 ath_pci
ath_hal 198864 1 ath_pci
ath5k 107008 0
mac80211 217208 1 ath5k
led_class 12036 2 ath5k,acer_wmi
cfg80211 38032 2 ath5k,mac80211

nothingspecial
May 30th, 2009, 01:13 AM
Put ath5k underneath what's already there

and comment ath_pci (put a # infront of it)

kingnerd
May 31st, 2009, 12:41 AM
Also, to the original poster, you can use BrowserShots to check your sites in each browser rather than actually using IE... Might not help to test more advanced functionality, but for basic layout purposes, it does well.

sudharshaw
January 26th, 2011, 12:35 PM
I have an Acer aspire 532h netbook and I have installed ubuntu 10.08 netbook edition. I am having a problem with my wireless card as well. It is very slow and I need to disconnect and connect again time to time to use it. I have the same thing working perfectly on my windows 7 partition.

However since I love to use the netbook edition of ubuntu I want to fix this problem. Has any one else resolve this issue?