PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] need to upgrade php 5.2.4 to 2.9

ridinglowest
May 29th, 2009, 02:56 AM
I am using turnkey linux(lamp) which is ubuntu just command line and a web gui. Bear with me I am a web developer not a linux guru.

I normally use xampp as a testing server which I guess emulates a linux server on a windows machine, but what is nice is the php version is up to date has every extension possible already setup.

with ubuntu I have firgured out how to update and install new libaries but something is still not right. In comparing the phpinfo file on the turnkey with the one on xampp, they look pretty close except for version numbers.

Is there a way to update all of apache or php5 to latest and greatest and with all extensions (ex curl, pdf, gd etc)

I tried.. apt-get update
apt-get install php5 and it seemed to work but the php into file still says 5.24-2 when xampp says 5.29

what am I doing wrong?

lemming465
May 30th, 2009, 05:39 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? Last months' 9.04 "jaunty jackalope" has PHP 5.2.6; if you really need 5.2.9 and don't want to compile it yourself you probably need to be running Debian "sid" (experimental), not Ubuntu. The way the Ubuntu release cycle works will always put it 6-8 months behind the bleeding edge.

zonezero
May 31st, 2009, 10:49 AM
So what your telling everyone is that Ubuntu will only update the repositories on the release cycles even when were talking about security holes open in something as common as PHP?

OpenBSD and FreeBSD both update the ports tree and the binary packages when there are security fixes and new versions of things like PHP and certainly not on a 6 month release schedule. They don't even make you run the "experimental" version of the OS!