PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Need help writing shell script to launch programs from desktop

mal1958
May 28th, 2009, 03:11 AM
Posting this here because I really don't know where to post it.

I need to get some basics on shell scripts. I have Xubuntu 9.04, wine latest, and have installed the following through wine: Caesar 3, Pharaoh, Write it Now 3. I need to do some kind of script to beable to launch these programs from the desktop. I would like to link the script to an Icon that I can double click to launch it. I need to know if this is possible, and if so, what do I use to write the script file, where do I put the script, etc...

I am a NOOB so please be gentle with me.

Mike

anewguy
May 28th, 2009, 04:11 AM
What do you need in the script? If all you want is to put an icon on the desktop to launch a wine application instead of going through the menus, you can do that without a script. Simply locate the item in the menu (in regular ubuntu [gnome desktop] Applications/Wine/Programs) then right click on the menu item and select "Add This Launcher to Desktop". If you need to, you can then go to the desktop and change the icon. Otherwise just click on the item on the desktop and it should go.

Dave :)

Didius Falco
May 28th, 2009, 04:11 AM
Hi,

I think this guide will help you out:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wine

Basically, you can just create Launchers on the desktop and use the command
wine /path/to/programname.exe .

You should be able to change the Icons just like you would any other Launcher - Right-click the Launcher, go to Properties, click the icon picture and find the icon you want to use.

I'd still recommend reading the guide, though. Who knows what other tasty tips it will hold?

Regards,

Didius

clonne4crw
May 28th, 2009, 04:12 AM
You mean a basic script that will just launch a bunch of programs? I've got some steps to follow: