PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Custom conky font

steelsparky
May 26th, 2009, 05:44 PM
Hello, I've searched and searched and can't find an answer to this problem. I'm sure its quite easy but I am new to linux.

I've finally configured conky to my likings, however, I would like to have a custom font. I've added the font, refreshed the cache and cannot get it to display.... please tell me what I'm doing wrong here...

I have this in fonts..
#Xft font when Xft is enabled
xftfont atomico:size 8

And I've messed around with the "#" although not too sure what it does for me...

please help!

MysticGold04
May 26th, 2009, 05:50 PM
Hello, I've searched and searched and can't find an answer to this problem. I'm sure its quite easy but I am new to linux.

I've finally configured conky to my likings, however, I would like to have a custom font. I've added the font, refreshed the cache and cannot get it to display.... please tell me what I'm doing wrong here...

I have this in fonts..
#Xft font when Xft is enabled
xftfont atomico:size 8

And I've messed around with the "#" although not too sure what it does for me...

please help!

try this:

xftfont atomico:size=8

the # symbol is used to clarify a comment, and conky will ignore lines with the # symbol, except for the configuration below the TEXT heading.

steelsparky
May 26th, 2009, 08:26 PM
try this:

the # symbol is used to clarify a comment, and conky will ignore lines with the # symbol, except for the configuration below the TEXT heading.

Thanks for the reply. I actually did have the '=' in there and still the same thing...here's my .conkryc

# set to yes if you want Conky to be forked in the background
background yes

cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 2

out_to_console no

# X font when Xft is disabled, you can pick one with program xfontsel

#Use Xft?
use_xft yes

own_window_transparent no
#own_window_colour hotpink
# Text alpha when using Xft
xftalpha 0.8