PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu in top 10 most disappointing technologies

Johnsie
May 23rd, 2009, 11:44 AM
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/16/20090516/ttc-top-10-disappointing-technologies-6315470.html

Ubuntu was listed on there because the author says it was hyped up by over-zealous Linux enthusiasts and failed to live up to the hype. 5 years on Ubuntu is still failing to make any significant impact in the operating systems market and is still mainly an operating system for computing hobbyists rather than the average user.

I have been using Ubuntu since 2005 and haven't noticed significant number of people or companies making the switch from Windows to Ubuntu, so I would tend to agree with the comments made by the author. I like Ubuntu, but it doesn't seem to be going anywhere.

Gucko
May 23rd, 2009, 12:04 PM
The most important feature of Ubuntu is that IT'S FREE.
What do you need more than this? Secure, reliable, and FREEEEE!

samjh
May 23rd, 2009, 12:08 PM
Keep writing such wrong headlines, and you too could end up being a bad journalist. ;)

Ubuntu was not listed in the top 10, as this thread title suggests. It received an honourable mention only. :)

Although it does irk me a little, I have to agree that given their criteria, Ubuntu hasn't made any serious mark against Windows as was hyped.

lukjad007
May 23rd, 2009, 12:15 PM
This has already been posted before :)

Corelogik
May 23rd, 2009, 12:19 PM
The biggest roadblock to any Linux distribution in the desktop space is not a lack of innovation.

There are 3 things that currently block Linux from widespread desktop adoption;

1. Microsoft's lock on pre-instalation.
2. Hardware device driver pervasiveness.
3. The general public's lack of computer literacy.

Break through anyone of the 3, and others will fall shortly thereafter. The result will be the swift adoption of Linux on the desktop, and the equally swift death of Microsoft.