PDA

View Full Version : What IDE and Keyboard do you use?

Gucko
May 17th, 2009, 10:34 PM
Hi guys, I'm a computer engineering student and Java programmer (still learning)

I heard that some guys don't prefer IDEs and use vim or emacs instead of them. Please tell me what do you prefer any why? I want to learn from others experience.

Second please if you are a programmer or spend lots of your time typing, tell me what's your keyboard brand and model. I spend most of my time typing and after an hour my fingers and hands start to hurt. So what do you recommend?

PurposeOfReason
May 17th, 2009, 10:37 PM
I like vim as a good vimrc makes it that much easier. I never have to leave the keyboard also, which is a plus.

Keyboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823102003

It's quiet, pretty tactile, and gets the job done. If your fingers hurt you're probably typing too hard.

OutOfReach
May 17th, 2009, 10:42 PM
I use Netbeans (very good despite it's bloat) for large projects that involve multiple files and a Makefile. and I use either vim or Geany for those quick 1-file programs.

My hands do tend to hurt while typing (they're hurting in my wrist area right now) but I am almost positive that it's because of the angle that im typing at and not the keyboard itself.

brian183
May 17th, 2009, 10:52 PM
I've been using Jedit for quite some time now and I really like it. Even so, I use vi/vim for command line editor whenever I feel like coding in it.

I can't really tell you what model keyboard I use. I went to Fry's and bought the heaviest keyboard I could find which turned out to be one of the cheaper ones. Reminds me of the old IBM M keyboards but it doesn't really come close to it. The IBM M is arguably the best keyboard ever made, especially for programmers.

My fingers and hands usually never hurt but my forearms do after awhile. You should probably stop typing so hard?

Gucko
May 17th, 2009, 11:41 PM
what do you mean guys by ''typing too hard''?