PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Accessing Windows Shared Documents and Printers

GTdenver
May 11th, 2009, 05:31 AM
This is a simple manual method to bookmark your Windows Shares.
Its not the ideal method, but after trying the configure Samba and other aspects of Ubuntu with no luck, this method worked for me.
I am new to Ubuntu, Linux and Programming. Again this is a newbie quick fix that will at least allow you to transfer your images, music and documents to your Ubuntu Desktop via home networking.

Besides making sure Samba is running I used the following method to setup my Windows shared Printers and Documents in Ubuntu 9.04.

You'll need your Windows computer IP address and Shared Printer and Document Names.

TO GET WINDOWS IP:
START>RUN>CMD
Then type - IPCONFIG /ALL

This will give you your Windows Computer IP address like 192.168.1.2

TO GET SHARED NAMES:
START>RUN>CMD
Then type - NET SHARE

This will tell you the names of all your shared Printers and Folders.
Please note that names may be case-sensitive so capitalize only when needed.

SETTING UP UBUNTU TO ACCESS WINDOWS SHARED DOCUMENTS:
In Ubuntu...
Click Places> Connect to Server
Change Service Type to "WINDOWS SHARE"
In SERVER type the Windows IP like 192.168.1.2
In FOLDER type SHAREDDOCS to access all shared folders.
Make sure you check the BOOKMARK BOX or you'll have to redo the shortcuts the next time you load.

SETTING UP UBUNTU TO ACCESS A WINDOWS SHARED PRINTER:
In Ubuntu...
Click SYSTEM>ADMINISTRATION>PRINTING.
Click NEW>NETWORK>WINDOWS PRINTER VIA SAMBA.
Type Windows IP/Shared PrinterName in the SMB:// Box
Like 192.168.1.2/SamsungC

Well I think that's it. I'm just a newbie so I can't offer too much more tech support in this area. Let me know if I need to clarify.

douglenn
May 21st, 2009, 07:49 PM
This is a simple manual method to bookmark your Windows Shares.
Its not the ideal method, but after trying the configure Samba and other aspects of Ubuntu with no luck, this method worked for me.