PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is there an emergency shutdown when system freezes?

btedm
May 9th, 2009, 11:31 AM
I am new to Ubuntu and just started with 8.10 and recently upgraded to 9.04.
Ubuntu is generally easy to use and I am pleased with it, but have problems that the screen sometimes freezes. I can move the cursor but cannot get any response when I try to click on an icon. I have had to resort to switching off the power on the computer. I do not like to do this because I understand that this can cause loss of data and be bad for the hard drive. I have tried ctrl-alt-del which sometimes works in Windows, and also ctrl-alt-F2 which I read might help. In general neither of these have any effect. Can anyone suggest a better approach than simply switching off power?

I found the following at the end of the /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old

(II) NVIDIA(0): Initialized GPU GART.
(this repeated 15 times in total)
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Error recovery failed.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***

Can this be a clue to what is causing the freeze?

Rinzwind
May 9th, 2009, 11:39 AM
Regarding the ctrl alt delete:

If ctrl alt f2 does not work in Linux you can use alt+sysrec+{key} to do some special things. Here's a short list:

Alt+SysRq+ Action Uses
R UnRaw Turns off keyboard raw mode. This allows input from the keyboard even if X-Window has crashed.
K SAK - Kill all on console Secure Access Key - Kills all programs on the current virtual console. This is useful if you want to make sure there are no programs waiting on the console to grab your password, or if a process won't let you switch consoles.
S Sync Attempts to sync all filesystems. This lessens the chance of data loss and fscking. Syncing is complete when "done" or "OK" is printed.
U Umount Attempts to remount all filesystems as read-only. Umounting is complete when "done" or "OK" is printed.