PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] semi-newbie creating a server, questions? suggestions welcome

Pnuts
May 4th, 2009, 10:53 PM
Couple of questions before I get to far into this. I'm fairly new to Linux in general I want to setup a Web Server. This is not only for a learning experiance but to also host a public website for friends and family.

1. Other then setting up a web server, what are some great things you would suggest to have running on it? I am thinking mail and maybe a local time server for the house. Any other useful things out there? I have a Linux MCE system so I have no need for mythtv on this machine.

2. I want to get the most out of this learning experiance so I do not plan on selecting any additional packages during the install and going at it from there. Would anyone advise against this? Keep in mind im not a complete newbie and can get around with the command line ok, also, this would help me learn more as I go.

3. Partitions, I have 3x 320gb drives in the system and I plan to use software raid 5. Up until now I have used a single large partition for everything on Linux, but I would like to do it right on this server. I have a NAS, so user files will be kept to a minimum if at all on this server. Here is my proposed plan:

/boot - 500mb (as raid 1, I read software r5 doesnt work to good here)
/ (root) - 5gb (software raid 5)
Swap - The system has 8gb of RAM in it, overkill, I know. Does the 2.5x RAM rule remain here? to keep all 3 drives usage similar when partitioning for raid, should i split the swap file over multiple drives, put it on a raid(lol)?
/home - 15gb (software raid 5)
/tmp - 1gb (software raid 5)
/usr - 15gb (software raid 5)
/var - everything thats left (software raid 5)

Am I missing anything, should I do it differently? If I take any of the suggested for question 1, should I change anything based on that? Maybe if I start using some VM software?