PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Internet gateway connecting through router?

SamuelC
May 3rd, 2009, 05:15 AM
(Yeah, the title sounds weird, as may seem what I'm trying to do.)

I'm stuck on dial-up in the middle of the boonies. Fortunately, I do at least have a second phone line, which makes thins a bit easier. What I've been doing for the last eight months or so is having one Windows 2000 computer running 24/7 to maintain the Internet connection and then use Internet Connection Sharing to shove the connection through to my router (Linksys WRT54GL), running DD-WRT. From there, the rest of the computers in my house can connect to the network, either via Ethernet or Wi-Fi. Yes, it's as brutal as it sounds, but it's better than only being able to have the Internet connected to one computer at a time, or worse, only having one Internet-connected computer.

For a while now, I've been utterly fed up with the Windows 2000 gateway, largely due to the difficulties presented by trying to forward port ranges with ICS (easy answer: not possible). Anyway, last... Wednesday, I think, I bit the bullet and installed Ubuntu Server 9.04 on a machine (after spending about six days downloading it on and off). Got a Conexant winmodem in it working fine after a bit, and set up iptables to do basic connection forwarding and NAT as per the Internet Connection Sharing wiki page (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Internet/ConnectionSharing). So far, so awesome.

So, my question: