PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] UHS Security

stretch427
May 2nd, 2009, 11:35 PM
Hey, I'm new to home servers and before I begin file backup I want to make sure my connection is secure.

I took a look at SSHhowto: but I was confused. Can someone link me somewhere or explain how to secure my connection

Thanks!

gombadi
May 2nd, 2009, 11:53 PM
Hey, I'm new to home servers and before I begin file backup I want to make sure my connection is secure.

Can you give us a bit more info on what you are trying to do.
I am not sure what you mean by file backup - are you going to do a backup to a remote server via an ssh connection?

If you are asking how to make ssh more secure(less open to script kiddies) then -
- change to a non standard port
- Add AllowUsers for the usernames you want to connect
- Disable root ssh logins
- use keys instead of passwords

If you can give us a bit more info on what you are trying to acheive then we will be able to better answer your question.

stretch427
May 3rd, 2009, 12:20 AM
Bare with my ignorance but basically I'm trying to create a small file server. I want to restrict access to a certain user group. How? Command?
I also want to use keys instead of passwords. Again don't know how. Command?
And disable root ssh logins. ? Command?

daboroe
May 3rd, 2009, 03:13 AM
same here i want to do this too. its very easy to set up pgp keys to do this. so yeah lol.

gombadi
May 3rd, 2009, 06:21 AM
Bare with my ignorance but basically I'm trying to create a small file server. I want to restrict access to a certain user group. How? Command?
I also want to use keys instead of passwords. Again don't know how. Command?
And disable root ssh logins. ? Command?

The main config file for ssh server is /etc/ssh/sshd_config.

Root logins are normally disabled by default. Normally the root account on Ubuntu does not have a password unless you set one so you can not ssh in as root. You can also make sure the following line is in the ssh config file -