PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No 3D/compiz with Intel GM965/GL960



Just64
May 2nd, 2009, 02:55 AM
I have tried all... and nothing works:


*-display:0 UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: 03
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: msi pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-display:1 UNCLAIMED
description: Display controller
product: Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
version: 03
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-intel/+bug/359392
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-intel/+bug/363821

Someone with the same problem could fix it?

asuastrophysics
May 7th, 2009, 08:45 AM
i have no clue man. nobody seems to have a fix for this, and it doesn't look like anyone's even filed a bug report for it.

i'm just about to give up on 9.04. i have no compiz and it wasn't even a good upgrade.

i think i'll permanently downgrade to 8.10. then i'll just manually update the apps installed. that balloon style notification system isn't worth all these problems :(

asuastrophysics
May 7th, 2009, 08:54 AM
and the bug report doesnt even describe the problem. they just said compiz is disabled. it's a lot more than just disabled. they've totally broken it. i already cleared compiz' blacklist. did absolutely nothing.

is there a clear and logical reason out there for why compiz isn't running?

it's not because it's blacklisted under /usr/bin/compiz. i checked that and it's commented out.

it's not because i need compiz to skip the checks. i already did that.
what more can i as an end-user do to fix this problem?

are there any other bug reports out there or are those two the only ones pertaining to our case?

digitalbenji
May 14th, 2009, 09:04 PM
I just wrote a quick script to fix this. Do this:

vi intel.jaunty.fix and paste this:


#!/bin/bash
if [ -e ~/.compiz ]
then echo "SKIP_CHECKS=yes" >> ~/.compiz/compiz-manager
else
mkdir ~/.compiz
echo "SKIP_CHECKS=yes" >> ~/.compiz/compiz-manager
fi
compiz-manager &

If you don't know vi, use another editor, or after you paste hit ESC then type :wq

Then do:
chmod +x intel.jaunty.fix
./intel.jaunty.fix

That worked and started compiz for me.

ndmaque
May 14th, 2009, 09:55 PM
I just wrote a quick script to fix this. Do this:

vi intel.jaunty.fix and paste this:


#!/bin/bash
if [ -e ~/.compiz ]
then echo "SKIP_CHECKS=yes" >> ~/.compiz/compiz-manager
else
mkdir ~/.compiz
echo "SKIP_CHECKS=yes" >> ~/.compiz/compiz-manager
fi
compiz-manager &

If you don't know vi, use another editor, or after you paste hit ESC then type :wq

Then do:
chmod +x intel.jaunty.fix
./intel.jaunty.fix

That worked and started compiz for me.

just tried aove but it locked up, i already did the blacklist thing (Lenovo T61 Intel GM965), it worked yesterday and also today when i showed it off to the ******* users at work, i locked the screen for lunch and it failed to compiz again after login.

I had already installed the compiz manager which still works but no effects until i run compiz in terminal...

...but when i do it hangs at the last bit gtk-window-decorator it locks terminal and snaps any apps to the top of screen, i can often cube rotate and fire sometimes, yesterday i simply killed the hung terminal all was well, but not since.

ndmaque
May 14th, 2009, 10:30 PM
aha - i had to go back into system > appearance > visual effects and enable Extra

for some reason it had reverted to Normal, i didn't need to run compiz or the intel.jaunty.fix

hope this helps someone

haven't sussed out how to get the flame effect on window close yet but that is my next job.

Bye bye micro$oft