PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] clock is off



DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:00 AM
i was on my vista partition for about three hours today and when i booted to jaunty., my clock was off reboot didn't fix it
i can't seem to sync it it wont take so i changed it my hand and not it is off.
any ideas what to do

llamabr
May 2nd, 2009, 02:03 AM
If I understand your question, your clock is not syncing? try:


sudo ntpdate rolex.peachnet.edu

Or your favorite server (this one is at georgia tech).

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:04 AM
what does this mean
darin@darin-desktop:~$ sudo ntpdate rolex.peachnet.edu
sudo: timestamp too far in the future: May 1 21:56:36 2009
[sudo] password for darin:
1 May 21:02:12 ntpdate[4677]: the NTP socket is in use, exiting
darin@darin-desktop:~$

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:07 AM
i thought there was a sync button or something in admin>time and date it is set to here is a screenshot
112088

llamabr
May 2nd, 2009, 02:08 AM
Hi. I have no idea how to do it with gui.

What's the output of


date

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:19 AM
darin@darin-desktop:~$ date
Fri May 1 21:17:36 EDT 2009
darin@darin-desktop:~$
it is two minutes off though with my cell phone

llamabr
May 2nd, 2009, 02:29 AM
Right. Besides medium roast ubuntuland, where are you? On the east coast?

llamabr
May 2nd, 2009, 02:32 AM
The "socket in use" error is because you're running ntpd already, and can't run both. You can confirm this with


ps aux | grep ntpd

It should update your clock occasionally. Try restarting that daemon, and see if that helps.

Actually the man page says it makes small adjustments over time, so maybe it'll just eventually fix itself.

73ckn797
May 2nd, 2009, 02:33 AM
Is the clock set right in the bios?

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:40 AM
darin@darin-desktop:~$ ps aux | grep ntpd
ntp 3544 0.0 0.0 4220 1176 ? Ss 20:50 0:00 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -u 112:123 -g
darin 5404 0.0 0.0 3336 800 pts/0 R+ 21:38 0:00 grep ntpd
darin@darin-desktop:~$

this is the read out

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 02:42 AM
i read somewhere that if you use windows it messes up the ntp??????

73ckn797
May 2nd, 2009, 03:01 AM
i read somewhere that if you use windows it messes up the ntp??????


My experience was in Windows not having correct time. Ubuntu was fine but the system bios clock was off affecting Windows.

DarinB
May 2nd, 2009, 12:46 PM
to catch up today when i booted up the pc and went directly in to Ubuntu the clock was right on, i wonder if being on windows for few hours did it, It was like the clock stopped and when i booted to ubuntu the clock was behind the exact time i was on windows. Maybe since i was on windows so long my ubuntu died of a broken heart. lol
But today all is fine, funny thing