PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Zyxel G-302 V3/Jaunty/Compaq - Boot failure

Gert-Jan
May 1st, 2009, 05:42 PM
Hi All,

I'm a noob concerning Ubuntu but I did manage to install the 9.04 version without problems :).
However, when I boot my system with my wifi-card plugged Ubuntu fails to boot :confused:

Details:
System: Compaq EVO D510 CMT
Pentium 4 processor (2400 MHz)

Wifi-card: Zyxel G-302 V3 802.11g PCI adapter
3.3V 32-bit PCI v2.2
[updat] Chipset: Realtek 8185L

Hope anyone can help me out :(

ranch hand
May 6th, 2009, 08:26 AM
I saw your link over on Jaunty experiences. Don't know a thing about wireless but I see you have had this up for a while.

Why don't you check over at;

http://www.linuxquestions.org/

They are sometimes better at hardware questions. This is my main source but they are #2. With my son they are #1.

I would also run a net search for your card in relation to Ubuntu. It may already be out there.

Welcome to Ubuntu, Jaunty and ext4 are great (even if I still use Hardy for my main data -I like LTS). I am on Jaunty now (trying Stoner Edition :-D).

Gert-Jan
May 6th, 2009, 06:26 PM
Thanks for the tips!

In the mean time I did find that there are people that are using this Zyxel wireless card with Ubuntu (should be working with Ndiswrapper) and I followed the installation process but still: the moment I put the card in the computer Ubuntu fails to boot... :(

The search continues...

ranch hand
May 6th, 2009, 10:03 PM
I would put the card in the box, boot from the LiveCD and configure the driver from there. This may stop the boot freeze problem.

Gert-Jan
May 8th, 2009, 04:42 PM
Hi ranch hand,
I might try that but I found another solution that works :cool:
Got my hands on a Siemens Gigaset USB 108 card which works with ndiswrapper without any problems. Try the other one some time on a rainy sunday afternoon ;-)

Anyway, thanks again for your effort to help me.

ranch hand
May 8th, 2009, 04:55 PM