View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu ubuntu-9.04-server-i386.iso

April 30th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Hi There,

I am new to ubuntu and badly need help. I have read and read and me eyes are so sore, but I wont give up on this. I have three issues apart from not knowing what I am doing. I am testing it for work purposes but not getting very far. I am on a windows based domain with ISA 6.

Ok Yday I downloaded from the net Ubuntu ubuntu-9.04-server-i386.iso (Jaunty Jacklope)and installed this ISO using VMserver (free edition) and it installed fine.

First would you please point me in the direction of a beginners manual for -9.04-server-i386.iso (Jaunty Jacklope) I click on links for it and get page cannot display I'm located in Dublin, IRE.

Next I cannot resolve my machine name to the ipaddress. I have edited the /etc hosts file and it looks fine I can ping by ipaddress for , gateway, dnserver, localhost and get reply but when I try by hostname cannot resolve by hostname. I have restarted network services and restarted the machine as well. I have looked at the /etc/network/interfaces and resolv.conf and host file and I cannot find anywhere else where further name configuration should take place can you help me or point me in the correct direction?

David do you know how I would install the GUI from the command line. Is it part of this iso image? I have tried to install using the
apt-get install x-window-system-core xserver-xorg gnome-desktop-environment for starters Error it returns is Couldn't find package gnome-desktop-environment and when I try the following sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop I get error Cannot find package ubuntu-desktop. Is there an easier way if I try apt-get update I get another error Its too long to write in here but I have taken a print screen unless you know how I can copy test from a VM console to this message that would be great.