PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recent kde-desktop install and now no internet



jfernand
April 29th, 2009, 05:05 AM
I have a weird problem and I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. I am running 8.04 and I recently installed kde to live along side gnome but now i can't connect to the internet. The weird thing is that I can launch a VM and it can connect to the internet just fine. I can even SSH into this box (not the VM) from a windows machine. I just can't make any outgoing connections like apt-get or firefox, but...i can ping.

Do you guys/gals have any advice or suggestions?


jfernand@nebula:/etc$ route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.197.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 vmnet1
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
172.16.248.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 vmnet8
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0

jfernand@nebula:/etc$ ping -c3 74.125.45.100
PING 74.125.45.100 (74.125.45.100) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=43.5 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=244 time=38.3 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.45.100: icmp_seq=3 ttl=244 time=37.9 ms

--- 74.125.45.100 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2005ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 37.937/39.940/43.520/2.542 ms

jfernand@nebula:/etc$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:4b:05:44:10
inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::204:4bff:fe05:4410/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:22101 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4065 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:6703969 (6.3 MB) TX bytes:909840 (888.5 KB)
Interrupt:222 Base address:0xc000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:4b:05:44:11
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:221 Base address:0x6000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:3052 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3052 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:173528 (169.4 KB) TX bytes:173528 (169.4 KB)

vmnet1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01
inet addr:192.168.197.1 Bcast:192.168.197.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:160 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vmnet8 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08
inet addr:172.16.248.1 Bcast:172.16.248.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:160 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

jfernand
April 30th, 2009, 04:32 AM
Man i feel stupid. The install apparently cleared my DNS entries and therefore couldn't resolve any addresses. So that explains why ping worked but apt-get didn't work because it couldn't resolve the repositories.

:oops: