PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I setup ubuntu to serve me as an FTP server.

Extol11
April 29th, 2009, 03:03 AM
Hi! I'm new to using Ubuntu as a server so I need a bit of help here. I installed Apache, Mysql and PHP on a spare computer I plan to use as a server for a forum. I have very few experience on how to do this stuff and the last time I actually tried it was a long time ago when I setup joomla. What I want to do is setup a Phpbb forum on this computer and I asked a friend of mine for help. He told me that he could help me but he wants me to make the pc accept transfers via ftp. I looked in synaptics for any package that did this and got confused with everything I saw. So how do I setup Ubuntu 9.04 to let me upload files to this pc via say.... filezilla? I also want it to be safe. I just want to be able to upload files to the site from anywhere to change the content of the site when needed. I don't have too much time to research this as I'm nearing finals and I have a couple of projects, so please bear with me. Thanks in advance for any help.

tricolorpoa
April 29th, 2009, 03:35 AM
I use proftpd as server and GProftpd as GUI-config

# sudo apt-get install proftpd gproftpd

:popcorn:

Extol11
April 29th, 2009, 05:15 AM
Am I not suppose to choose one of those packages or the other? Also, is there any setup needed after that? And is whatever firewall that ubuntu has ready for it? Meaning it will let only that program get accessed through the ftp port? And thanks for telling me.

tricolorpoa
April 29th, 2009, 02:20 PM
Install the 2 packages

proftpd - the server
gproftp - the configuration interface in Application > Internet > GProftpd

after that the service are working for all users that you have in your system...
maybe you want to change the Home Dir of some users in GProftpd to use /var/www but this is very easy if you use GProftp

Extol11
April 29th, 2009, 09:30 PM
Install the 2 packages

proftpd - the server