PDA

View Full Version : Things you need to know about Ubuntu...that will make your life easier!

lovinglinux
April 27th, 2009, 06:53 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for 8 months and only last week I learned that you can hit the up/down arrows in the keyboard when you are using the terminal to display the commands history :oops:. This is awesome and save a lot of time.

So I decided to create this thread, to exchange tips and tricks that make our experience with Ubuntu a lot easier. I'm posting some things I think is worthy, but please post your own too. This is not supposed to be a tutorial thread, so if you need to post something complex and big, please just describe it and give a link. Here it goes.

------------------------------

Things you need to know about Ubuntu...that will make your life easier!

Installation

you don't have to install Ubuntu to try it. You can use from the Live CD without affecting your current files
you can install Ubuntu from inside Windows, like a regular program, using a nice tool called Wubi (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/downloadmirrors#wubi)
having a separate partition for your personal stuff (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/separatehome) can save you a lot of trouble when upgrading or fixing serious issues

Usability

on Linux, you don't have to copy and paste a text using CTRL+C and CTRL+V, just select the text and hit the middle-mouse-button where you want to paste it

Terminal (the command stuff)

when you type your password in the terminal it doesn't show up, but it is there. Just hit enter to continue.
you can hit the up/down arrows or the mousewheel (http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=7157811&postcount=5) to access recently used commands
you can type the initial letters of a command and hit Tab to auto-complete it or to display a list of options
this symbol ~/ before a file means that it is located on your personal directory (i.e. /home/yourself/) and you can use it instead of typing the entire path