PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Touchpad Issues on Eee PC 900HA

Ripp_Steakface
April 26th, 2009, 11:28 PM
Hey guys, I'm completely new here. I got an Eee PC 900HA (160GB HD) a few weeks ago, and I'm now dual-booting both Windows XP (which it came with), and UNR 9.04. I'm also new to Linux so I'm still learning the commands and everything. I've had some network issues with it connecting to my Airport Extreme base station, but it seems to be going a bit more smoothly now.

Anyway, to the point. This small trackpad is giving me problems; the cursor is very jumpy. For example, say my cursor is in the upper right quarter of my screen and I'm not touching the trackpad. I put my finger down anywhere on the trackpad, and the cursor jumps 2 to 3 inches to the left. It seems to want to go to the left more than the right, but it may just be the way I'm testing it. It hasn't done it in a vertical motion yet. Could this be simply a poor quality touchpad, or could it be in the software? Any help is appreciated. If I need to enter Terminal commands, be sure to go easy on me, I'm still learning. Thanks!

Edit: I should mention that it doesn't do this in WinXP.

djwishbone
June 16th, 2009, 05:05 PM
Bumping this because I have the exact same issue. This does not occur in Easy Peasy, but I know that it was based on a previous version of Ubuntu.

buddyd16
June 18th, 2009, 05:41 AM
Bump as I also am experiencing this.

One solution I found is to create/edit an options.conf file in the /etc/modprobe.d directory

cd /etc/modprobe.d
sudo gedit options.conf

and add the line

options psmouse proto=imps

the only problem with this solutions is you lose the touchpad tab under mouse options and the ability to disable tapping.

anyone know of an alternate solution to smooth the mouse or an additional line for the options.conf file that will disable tapping?

12ftguru
June 18th, 2009, 04:40 PM