PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get WoW to run

Moohasha
April 24th, 2009, 03:25 PM
First of all, I'm an ABSOLUTE BEGINNER to Linux! I used Unix a little bit in college about 7 years ago, but it was very basic. So keep that in mind before posting things like "just open a terminal and type jfjidsjoi -diasfs -=ji3oijdlk", cause I probably have no idea what you're talking about! ;)

I'm building a new computer in about a month, and when I heard that I could play World of Warcraft in Linux using WoW, I thought I'd give it a try before buying Windowx Vista. So I installed Ubuntu 9.0.4 on my laptop, got the latest version of Wine, and then downloaded an installed WoW (beause I couldn't get it to install from the DVD using Wine). It installed without a hitch (mostly), but now I can't get it to run. When I get to the login screen, the graphics are all jacked up and it eventually crashes. The furthest I've gotten is to the character selection screen.

I did Google and read walkthroughs and instructions on installing Wine and WoW on Ubuntu, including some posts on these forums, but they were all for previous versions of Ubuntu since 9.0.4 just came out. I tried both adding SET gxAPI "opengl" to the config.wtf file and adding the -opengl flag to the shortcut (seperately, not both at the same time) and still no luck.

So my guess is that I need to update my video drivers? When I installed Ubuntu, everything worked (something I really liked :D) so I didn't bother with any drivers.

I've seen so many people saying they've gotten it to work, and it's got a gold rating from winehq, so I know that I'm missing something or doing something wrong. I'm open to any and all suggestions since this is just a test machine and I don't care what happens to it. :D

RichardLinx
April 24th, 2009, 03:38 PM
Just open a terminal and type:
jfjidsjoi -diasfs -=ji3oijdlk
(Kidding)