PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] koffice package broken in jaunty.

casbahdk
April 24th, 2009, 03:05 PM
I get the following when I try to install Koffice:

$ sudo apt-get install koffice
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
koffice: Depends: kformula (>= 1:1.6.3-7ubuntu6) but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages

I have done a search, but Jaunty is just off the presses and I don't see anything posted about this issue.

BTW, I have a suggestion for the forums. I would like to see an absolute beginner section for new KDE users. It takes a lot of time and effort to find KDE programs similar to the GNOME apps I have been using and there doesn't seem to be a migration guide.

Cheers

RichardLinx
April 24th, 2009, 03:30 PM
KOffice is currently available as version 1.6.3 designed to run with KDE 3.3 or later. KOffice is released separately from the rest of KDE, so KOffice releases are not in sync with those of KDE. If you wish to use a newer development version, then you will need to compile from source.

You wont be able to install KOffice straight from the package manager because of some unresolved dependancies. The only way you can get it to work if you're using KDE 4 is to compile it from source.

The source code and instructions on how to compile it can be found here: http://www.koffice.org/download/source.php

I'm not sure about this but you may be able to install some KDE3 libs and it might work, but I wouldn't count on it.

casbahdk
April 25th, 2009, 10:34 AM