PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Permanent program running on Server?

Terminator0506
April 24th, 2009, 08:25 AM
Hey, I've got a vServer with Ubuntu 32bit.
Now I want to run a program on this server.
I tried to use "nohup" in putty. It ran perfectly but as I turned off my PC, it killed the process.

I want it to run 24h a day... Can you help me please?

Sorry if my english isn't as nice as yours, I'm a 15year old student from Germany! :D

jimv
April 24th, 2009, 08:42 AM
When you start the program, type it like this to run it in the background:

nohup &

You should be able to see it running by typing "ps -a"

BkkBonanza
April 24th, 2009, 09:47 AM
Note, you can't just run nohup &
You need to run,
nohup someprogram &
The nohup is supposed to stop it being sent a terminate signal when the shell exits.

Another probably more flexible way to do this is to use screen.
Type, man screen to learn more about this. With screen it's easy to detach the program and later re-attach it.

jimv
April 24th, 2009, 10:05 AM
Note, you can't just run nohup &
You need to run,
nohup someprogram &
The nohup is supposed to stop it being sent a terminate signal when the shell exits.

Another probably more flexible way to do this is to use screen.
Type, man screen to learn more about this. With screen it's easy to detach the program and later re-attach it.

I thought nohup was a program :D

Terminator0506
April 24th, 2009, 01:12 PM
First thanks for your answers...
I want to do it as easy as possible. So the program is in directory /root/ and is called PennerBot32 ...

So I have to type nohup /root/PennerBot32 &, right?

Yesterday I typed in PuTTY: nohup /root/PennerBot32 - it ran perfectly but just until I turned off my computer...

Is the & important? Or can somebody now give me another possibility to run it 24h a day?
If possible immediately the whole code? (:

Greets