PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] INKSCAPE install Xubuntu 8.04.1

SnaveDogg
April 23rd, 2009, 02:36 PM
I am a newb so be nice....I installed xubuntu last night on an old junker HP Pavilion. All went well with that. Now I'm trying to install a version of inkscape, a vector graphics application.
#1, I do not know where to find a download that will work, and
#2 installing new software/applications is foreign to me on this OS.

Can anyone help me with this? This computer is for my 7 year old daughter to play on, and she loves graphics. I installed inkscape on my Windows machine, and it is great. I tried using the same .exe setup file that I used on the Windows machine to get it installed on the Xubuntu machine. Apparently, that is something new I'm gonna have to learn. I found that you can't just double click it and have it start up the install process. I tried right clicking and "install" but that didn't work either.

Then I found something online with a .gz on the end, and I couldn't get that to work either. It involved adding a couple of lines to an existing file in the etc/apt folder. I added the lines, but it wouldn't allow me to save it.

ANYWAY....

I just want to get inkscape, and have no idea how.

Thanks in advance.

Sir Jasper
April 23rd, 2009, 03:32 PM
Hi,

Clear your desktop using the minmise button (top right of this screen).

Right click to see a menu. Click on system (near the bottom). Then click

Synaptic Package Manager. Enter your password and press Return.

Click on Search and in the dropdown box type inkscape and click the button.

When Inkscape shews click the empty box and hit any "apply" button(s).

It will install automatically.

When it is escape and bring up the menu again (with a clear screen) and try looking under Graphics.

Let us know how it goes.

My regards

RichardLinx
April 23rd, 2009, 03:40 PM