PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Upgrading ram

Ranko95
April 22nd, 2009, 12:24 AM
Hey um i need more ram and im a noob at linux stuff so this may sound stupid. I want to use virtualbox and i figure that requires alot more ram, (I also want more for compiz stuff). anyways, there is this thing on vista and win 7 called ready boost. I enables you to use a flash drive for ram memory. I have never tried this before. I dual boot win7 and ubuntu intrepid. If i use ready boost on win 7 and then delete the windows partition will this effect still apply? also what drawbacks are there to ready boost. Oh and could i use ready boost from the virtual box if that will work better?

Thanks for your time and patience.

lisati
April 22nd, 2009, 12:26 AM
I think "ready boost" is a Windows (Vista) thing. I'm not aware of an Ubuntu-friendly equivalent, but other forum users might be able to enlighten us.

Ranko95
April 22nd, 2009, 12:28 AM
no, im saying if i use in vista then will it effect ubuntu? (it should right?) and im asking if i can delete the win 7 partitition afterward and keep the ready boost effect.

lisati
April 22nd, 2009, 12:32 AM
no, im saying if i use in vista then will it effect ubuntu? (it should right?) and im asking if i can delete the win 7 partitition afterward and keep the ready boost effect.
Ubuntu usually makes its own arrangements for managing memory and any gadgets you have plugged in. There are probably one or two exceptions which are hardware based, but changing the settings on one operating system usually doesn't directly affect the settings on another.

saidinesh5
April 22nd, 2009, 12:48 AM
incase you directly want your answers, directly jump to the next paragraph, skipping this one :