PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Email Server Can't Send Email

kevin11951
April 21st, 2009, 03:29 PM
I setup an email server for a testing environment (so it dosent matter if this ends up badly :))

The problem is that i cant send any emails from it, i can receive them, but not send, when i send it i get this error
connect to alt4.gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com[72.14.253.27]:25: Connection timed out (for gmail in this case)

not sure how to fix this.

Its the default "tasksel" email stack (postfix and dovecot).

Also, i am very new to email servers.

Dr Small
April 21st, 2009, 03:47 PM
Can you telnet to it?

telnet alt4.gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com 25

Also, do you have a FQDN?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fully_qualified_domain_name

Dr Small

HermanAB
April 21st, 2009, 04:29 PM
Most newbie email server problems are due to a misconfigured hostname and DNS. You *must* have a FQDN, A, PTR and MX records. Get your network configured correctly and the trouble will likely go away.

kevin11951
April 21st, 2009, 05:02 PM
Yes, i have a FQDN, its kviero.com, and its in the hosts file.

The mx records on godaddy's (my domin registrar) side are all set to my external ip, that includes smtp.* imap.* pop.* mail.* etc... and to top it all off, my router is set to dmz the servers internal ip.

i know i am over looking something simple.

(also, im not sure if you meant it that way, but "newbie" has a very negative meaning to it, for me)

kevin11951
April 21st, 2009, 05:19 PM
How do you setup a FQDN? this is my hosts file, is it right?

127.0.0.1 kviero.com localhost
127.0.1.1 kviero.com Kviero-64

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts

ephmanjmm
April 21st, 2009, 05:21 PM
I am not getting any info about an mx record when I dig mx kviero.com. nslookup responds with no answer for the mx record.

kevin11951