PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] anti virus software

lane1075
April 20th, 2009, 04:03 PM
hi absolute beginner at ubuntu is there any anti-virus software already installed? also need to download software updates but keeps on asking for password everything i have tried doesnt work how can i re-set a password?

aeiah
April 20th, 2009, 04:07 PM
very few people bother with antivirus software for ubuntu. linux is inherantly more secure than windows, and also has hardly any viruses. i would say no viruses at all, but then some smart-*** will chirp in with some case study that found one or something. basically you may want to use antivirus if you deal with windows computers so you dont accidentally send on an email containing a windows virus, but this virus won't affect you its self. if you want to use antivirus, then have a look at clam-av

your other problem seems more worrying though. your root password should be the same as your initial user password. the user you set up initially when installing ubuntu. do the usual check of making sure capslock is off etc

muteXe
April 20th, 2009, 04:08 PM
It's the password you chose when you installed Ubuntu.
Search for clam av in the repo's for antivirus. I think avg do a linux version of their software as well.

Hyper Tails
April 20th, 2009, 04:10 PM
I recommend clamtk or avast.

choose which one you'll like
I have Clamtk

MysticGold04
April 20th, 2009, 04:11 PM
I use Avast Anti-Virus on my Ubuntu machines only because I have a network with Windows machines attached. Generally no need, but I like to be on the safe side.

Hospadar
April 20th, 2009, 04:15 PM
As above, clamav would be the software to use. That said, viruses for linux are very rare, on top of things being relatively secure in general (although that's not to say linux is invincible, all software has holes in it, and you should still use smart computing practices)