PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation stuck at 5%

HazzaJ
April 20th, 2009, 02:53 PM
Hi everyone

I'm new to ubuntu and so far am liking its simplicity. However I am having a few issues trying to install it. (I have only been able to boot it directly from a disc.)

So... I am trying to install 8.10 (and yes a realize there is an update on the way) from a CD. I'm trying to install it on my laptop and override or get rid of windows as my OS and use ubuntu as my main and only OS. My laptop specs are as follows: 1.4ghz processor, 1024mb ram and a 40gig HDD.

Anyways I am able to go through all the installation processes as normal. At step 4 out of 7 i select the automatic/guided option and am able to continue. When i finally hit the install button it starts to install and gets stuck at 5% which is: Creating ext3 file system for / in partition #1 of SCSI1 (0,0,0).... It stayed like this for ages.

The first time it happened I just restarted my comp. It originaly had 2x20gig partition and it now has 1 or 2 and windows is gone. When I try to start my comp without the disc it says: No active Partition.

I have tried to install it several times and every-time it gets stuck at 5%. Could someone please tell me how to get around this and get ubuntu installed on my HDD?

Hope this made sense.

Thanks,
HazzaJ

P.s. I did a search and couldn't find the answers so sorry if this has already been answered before.

hesjnet
April 20th, 2009, 03:06 PM
Sounds like a burn that has gone wrong. I reccomend you try to burn a new copy and use a lower burn-speed.

You still have a computer to do this on right?

HazzaJ
April 20th, 2009, 03:14 PM
Cheers for the quick reply!

Yeh, i do have another computer to burn a new CD. And its burning as we type.
I'll see if it works then post back.

HazzaJ