PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Ubuntu 9.04

Irish1
April 20th, 2009, 12:08 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu. I use it at work and decided that I would start using it at home. I recently bought a new computer with a blank HD figuring I would install Ubuntu and forget about Windows. The computer I bought has an ASUS M3A78-EM motherboard. I'm trying to run the disks that came with it to install some software, but I keep getting an Autorun error message. I've tried to open the ASUS setup file manually, but then I get an Archive Manager error message. What steps do I need to take to run this software setup disk? It is a .exe file type which I think is for Windows. Is that the problem, that Ubuntu cannot read the file types meant for Windows?

Also, I currently do not have my new computer hooked up to the internet, is that going to be a problem? I do have access in my building to another comuter with an internet connection.

Please help me, I really don't want to have to resort to using Vista, I haven't heard one good thing about it.

Tibuda
April 20th, 2009, 12:13 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu. I use it at work and decided that I would start using it at home. I recently bought a new computer with a blank HD figuring I would install Ubuntu and forget about Windows. The computer I bought has an ASUS M3A78-EM motherboard. I'm trying to run the disks that came with it to install some software, but I keep getting an Autorun error message. I've tried to open the ASUS setup file manually, but then I get an Archive Manager error message. What steps do I need to take to run this software setup disk? It is a .exe file type which I think is for Windows. Is that the problem, that Ubuntu cannot read the file types meant for Windows?
Those software you are trying to install are probably made for Windows, and won't work in Ubuntu. Can you tell what are you trying to install? If they are drivers, don't worry. You almost don't have to install them in Linux if your hardware is well supported.