PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] temperature not registering



disparais
April 19th, 2009, 07:10 PM
I'm somewhat new to using Ubuntu - my boyfriend convinced me to try it as a lightweight alternative to Vista - so he may know his ****, but I still don't know anything about it (and he doesn't live nearby). I don't know what information I'm supposed to provide here or how to do it. As a disclaimer.

My laptop's not reading the temperature. It consistently says it's 0 degrees, and it eventually becomes so hot I can't use it. About forty-five minutes into a class, it just needs to go off because I can't tolerate it anymore.

Where do I start to fix it?

67GTA
April 19th, 2009, 08:32 PM
Give us a little info, and we might be able to help. What is the brand/model? Open a terminal and post the output of these commands.


lspci


dmesg | grep acpi


cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/state

disparais
April 20th, 2009, 07:03 PM
The laptop is a Compaq C700 series.

and the commands you gave me:


sunshine@Kamiakin:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


sunshine@Kamiakin:~$ dmesg | grep acpi
[ 0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x01] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
[ 0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x02] lapic_id[0x01] enabled)
[ 0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x01] high edge lint[0x1])
[ 0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x02] high edge lint[0x1])
[ 3.600378] pata_acpi 0000:00:1f.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
[ 3.600421] pata_acpi 0000:00:1f.1: setting latency timer to 64
[ 3.600438] pata_acpi 0000:00:1f.1: PCI INT B disabled
[ 13.530758] acpi device:17: registered as cooling_device2


sunshine@Kamiakin:~$ cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/
statecat: /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/state: No such file or directory

disparais
April 20th, 2009, 07:26 PM
Oops. I know I blew the last one and typed the wrong thing, but when I retried it with the correct command, the error was still the same.

67GTA
April 20th, 2009, 09:17 PM
The last command failed because your temp settings aren't being recognized, so the folder we were querying didn't exist. First lets try to install lm-sensors to see if there is a temp sensor for your laptop. Open a terminal and run
sudo apt-get install lm-sensors Once it is done, run
sudo sensors-detect You will have to hit "enter" each time it asks as it probes for missing modules for your hardware. The default answer is yes for each one until the very last. It will ask if you want it to write to /etc/modules. The default here is "no". You want to type "yes" and hit enter. The /etc/modules file lists modules not included in the kernel by default that need to be loaded at each boot. Now go to Menu>System>Administration>Services. Click the unlock button and enter your password. Then look for "Hardware Monitor (lm-sensors)" and make sure the box is checked. Now reboot and rerun the commands I posted ealier to see if anything has changed.

disparais
April 21st, 2009, 12:34 AM
Nothing's changed. I'm still getting the message that the directory doesn't exist.

67GTA
April 21st, 2009, 12:54 AM
That may mean we will have to get our hands dirty:( What version of Ubuntu are you running? Post the output of
lsmod from a terminal.

disparais
April 21st, 2009, 04:05 AM
I'm running Ibex.


sunshine@Kamiakin:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
ipv6 263972 10
nls_iso8859_1 12032 1
nls_cp437 13696 1
vfat 18944 1
fat 57376 1 vfat
i915 38656 2
drm 86056 3 i915
af_packet 25728 4
binfmt_misc 16904 1
sco 18308 2
bridge 56980 0
stp 10628 1 bridge
bnep 20480 2
rfcomm 44560 0
l2cap 30464 6 bnep,rfcomm
bluetooth 61924 6 sco,bnep,rfcomm,l2cap
ppdev 15748 0
acpi_cpufreq 15500 1
cpufreq_userspace 11396 0
cpufreq_powersave 9856 0
cpufreq_stats 13188 0
cpufreq_conservative 14600 0
cpufreq_ondemand 14988 1
freq_table 12672 3 acpi_cpufreq,cpufreq_stats,cpufreq_ondemand
container 11520 0
sbs 19464 0
pci_slot 12680 0
sbshc 13440 1 sbs
iptable_filter 10752 0
ip_tables 19600 1 iptable_filter
x_tables 22916 1 ip_tables
coretemp 14080 0
parport_pc 39332 0
lp 17156 0
parport 42604 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
joydev 18368 0
ath_pci 99096 0
wlan 211952 1 ath_pci
ath_hal 198864 1 ath_pci
snd_hda_intel 384176 2
arc4 9984 2
snd_pcm_oss 46848 0
snd_mixer_oss 22784 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 83204 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
ecb 10880 2
snd_seq_dummy 10884 0
crypto_blkcipher 25476 1 ecb
snd_seq_oss 38528 0
snd_seq_midi 14336 0
snd_rawmidi 29824 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 15232 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
psmouse 45200 0
snd_seq 57776 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
ath5k 117380 0
snd_timer 29960 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
serio_raw 13444 0
evdev 17696 11
mac80211 226344 1 ath5k
snd_seq_device 15116 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
pcspkr 10624 0
led_class 12164 1 ath5k
video 25232 0
snd 63268 13 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,sn d_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_de vice
output 11008 1 video
cfg80211 50200 2 ath5k,mac80211
soundcore 15328 1 snd
ac 12292 0
wmi 14504 0
battery 18436 0
iTCO_wdt 18596 0
button 14224 0
intel_agp 33724 1
agpgart 42184 3 drm,intel_agp
iTCO_vendor_support 11652 1 iTCO_wdt
shpchp 38036 0
pci_hotplug 34976 1 shpchp
snd_page_alloc 16136 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ext3 133256 1
jbd 55828 1 ext3
mbcache 16004 1 ext3
sr_mod 22212 0
cdrom 43168 1 sr_mod
ata_generic 12932 0
sd_mod 42392 5
crc_t10dif 9984 1 sd_mod
ata_piix 24708 0
8139cp 27520 0
sg 39732 0
usb_storage 82624 1
libusual 30356 1 usb_storage
ahci 37132 2
pata_acpi 12160 0
8139too 31616 0
ehci_hcd 43788 0
mii 13440 2 8139cp,8139too
libata 178208 4 ata_generic,ata_piix,ahci,pata_acpi
scsi_mod 155212 5 sr_mod,sd_mod,sg,usb_storage,libata
dock 16656 1 libata
uhci_hcd 30864 0
usbcore 149488 5 usb_storage,libusual,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
thermal 23708 0
processor 42156 4 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
fan 12548 0
fbcon 47648 0
tileblit 10880 1 fbcon
font 16512 1 fbcon
bitblit 13824 1 fbcon
softcursor 9984 1 bitblit
fuse 60828 3

67GTA
April 22nd, 2009, 12:20 AM
Sorry for the delay. Have you tried looking in your Bios to see if there are any acpi/fan settings? If so, they might be conflicting with Ubuntu's power settings. I think you can hit F1 on Compaqs when the computer starts up to access the Bios. If not, you might have a buggy DSDT. I wrote a how to here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1036051 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1036051)If that scares you, you could email me a copy of your dsdt.dat from the second command in the howto, and I will look at it for you.

disparais
April 24th, 2009, 10:24 PM
There actually is no fan-related settings in the BIOS. It was one of the first things I looked for. ]:

67GTA
April 24th, 2009, 10:46 PM
If your DSDT file isn't causing it, you might need to file a bug report on your laptop model.

disparais
April 25th, 2009, 05:18 AM
I installed Jackalope today, actually, and it solved it. I can get a reading of the temperature now, and all the problems that I had with Ibex aren't an issue now anymore, either.

=/

So who knows.

Thank you for the help.