PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] can i get a wider range of screen resolutions?



cosmicappuccino
April 18th, 2009, 11:05 PM
Hi,

I only have 3 screen resolutions available in the drop-down menu, at the moment. Is it possible to get more?

Some googling has revealed suggestions to use:


sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

But that only seems to take me through keyboard settings, with no mention of the display. Am I missing something?

Any instructions would be much appreciated, thanks a lot...

halitech
April 18th, 2009, 11:07 PM
what video card do you have?

cosmicappuccino
April 18th, 2009, 11:11 PM
:S It's an nvidia one but I don't know exactly. Do I have to know? - if so, how can I find out?

halitech
April 18th, 2009, 11:14 PM
it would help to know. open a terminal and post the output of
lshw -C video

you may be able to enable the restricted drivers as well - System - Admin - Restricted drivers (if its there)

davec64
April 18th, 2009, 11:17 PM
Just a thought, be careful and research your monitors capabilities as well!! :)

You don't want to send your monitor into early retirement!

NESFreak
April 18th, 2009, 11:25 PM
Just a thought, be careful and research your monitors capabilities as well!! :)

You don't want to send your monitor into early retirement!

nowadays monitors are protected and show an out of range error.

In ye olde days you could indeed blow them up. So unless yours is older than say 15 years i wouldn't worry to much.

davec64
April 18th, 2009, 11:27 PM
nowadays monitors are protected and show an out of range error.

In ye olde days you could indeed blow them up. So unless yours is older than say 15 years i wouldn't worry to much.

Point taken!
I'm an old git, wishing it was still the 80's :)

nandemonai
April 19th, 2009, 12:14 AM
Hi,

I only have 3 screen resolutions available in the drop-down menu, at the moment. Is it possible to get more?

Some googling has revealed suggestions to use:


sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

But that only seems to take me through keyboard settings, with no mention of the display. Am I missing something?

Any instructions would be much appreciated, thanks a lot...

Are the restricted drivers for NVIDIA installed? That's the only way I've been able to get good resolutions on my systems with NV cards.

cosmicappuccino
April 19th, 2009, 11:23 AM
Thank you all for your replies!

I will try your suggestions out when I am on that computer again (it's currently in use by someone else)...

(: