PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need Help! Problem with sound in Toshiba L100

GuyFreakz
April 18th, 2009, 06:26 AM
Hi, everyone :)

Beside wifi connection problem (see my another thread), i'm facing sound problem. My laptop is toshiba l100 and usually using Conexant AC-Link driver in it's default OS (winxp home). 2 days ago i started installing ubuntu 8.10 but the sound is very horrible. I admit that i can hear the sound but with very low quality (noisy, buzzy) and gives reverb. My question is why and how to fix it?

PS: again, this problem seems didn't occur on another laptop, espescially ACER. Is toshiba not compatible with ubuntu? I'm a newbie here.

Idwal Tristan
April 18th, 2009, 06:43 AM
When using the laptop’s own speakers the sound is of adequate volume and decent quality for such small speakers. There are even eventualities where the speakers are too loud and this brings to light the laptop’s biggest problem. There is no external sound control for this laptop and as such the user has to rely solely on software to change the volume such as Windows’ own volume control or in-game or media player volume controls. I find this aspect extremely annoying in general use. Another problem with the sound is that when one is using a particularly high quality sound system with the laptop the internal components such as the hard drive make perceptible noise, which makes things like sound editing and music writing difficult. An external or PCMCIA sound card would really be required for complicated music and sound-related tasks on this laptop.

GuyFreakz
April 18th, 2009, 07:27 AM