PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] dell wireless problem



matt1987
April 17th, 2009, 07:05 AM
hello i have a dell inspiron e1505 with a 1390 wireless card. i installed broadcom STA drivers for it using the hardware drivers app. it detects and connects to wireless networks fine, but it won't transfer any data. i'm not sure what the problem is. could anyone help? i'm using ubuntu 8.10.

jbrown96
April 17th, 2009, 07:17 AM
Let's do some testing to figure out how "connected" you are.

Post the output of the following commands

Get detailed hardware info (this is case sensitive)

lspci | grep Network

System info

uname -a

Network info

ifconfig

iwconfig

Try to connect to some servers

ping -c 5 google.com

ping -c 5 192.168.1.1 If the previous command didn't work, then try
ping -c 5 10.0.0.0

matt1987
April 17th, 2009, 07:27 AM
matt@matt-laptop:~$ lspci | grep Network
0b:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)

matt@matt-laptop:~$ uname -a
Linux matt-laptop 2.6.27-11-generic #1 SMP Wed Apr 1 20:57:48 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

matt@matt-laptop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:c5:0b:35:89
inet addr:99.179.98.168 Bcast:99.179.98.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::215:c5ff:fe0b:3589/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:153400 errors:1 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:87181 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:132052847 (132.0 MB) TX bytes:6803041 (6.8 MB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:100 (100.0 B) TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:cf:21:0d:6a
inet addr:192.168.2.2 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::216:cfff:fe21:d6a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:12180 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:61 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1381166 (1.3 MB) TX bytes:14410 (14.4 KB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-16-CF-21-0D-6A-64-36-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

matt@matt-laptop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

pan0 no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"Eastside Farm"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:1C:DF:E2:7F:FF
Bit Rate=9 Mb/s Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality=55/100 Signal level:-76 dBm Noise level=-69 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



ping test #1 failed ping #2 and 3 went thru.

jbrown96
April 17th, 2009, 07:39 AM
You seem to have two internet connections: an ethernet and wireless active.

You are getting an ip address on your wireless connection, so you were right in saying that you're connected, but it's difficult to say what's going wrong.

If you don't mind, what's your network setup? You're getting a public IP address on eth0 (ethernet) 99.179.98.168. This isn't very unusual, but it is strange to have a private ip on wlan0 (wireless 192.168.2.2. That's also strange to have that address instead of 192.168.1.2.

Here's a test to run, but you need to install some software first.

sudo apt-get install nmap
Unplug your ethernet connection.

sudo nmap -sP 192.168.*.*

I think that this is a router problem, not an issue with ubuntu. If the 2nd and 3rd ping tests succeeded (don't know how the third worked?), then you can communicate with the local network, just not the internet.

matt1987
April 17th, 2009, 07:49 AM
yeah i have 2 active connections. right now i'm using my dsl cable. my wifi comes from a 24 hr restaurant next to me. the strange thing is the wifi signal is from 60%-100% usually. i'll run the tests tommow. i'm off to bed. i appreciate for your help!!

EDIT: never mind i decided to try it. i installed the program and ran the command and it just hung at the start text.

jbrown96
April 17th, 2009, 07:58 AM
yeah i have 2 active connections. right now i'm using my dsl cable. my wifi comes from a 24 hr restaurant next to me. the strange thing is the wifi signal is from 60%-100% usually. i'll run the tests tommow. i'm off to bed. i appreciate for your help!!

EDIT: never mind i decided to try it. i installed the program and ran the command and it just hung at the start text.

It will take a while to run. There are 256^2 possible addresses to check.

matt1987
April 19th, 2009, 02:05 AM
ok i got it working. must of been on the server side like you said. thanks for the assistance.