PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Theme problem

Ruse
April 16th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Hey dudes and dudettes!
I have this irritating problem that seems impossible to solve. Thing is that I am rather new to Linux and Ubuntu and I really want to change the theme since I am a sucker for eyecandy;). So anyway, Ive learnt that you are supposed to take the tarball that you download from say www.gnome-look.org and drag it into the appearances window without unpacking and the theme should pretty much install itself, so I do that but only a small portion of the theme work like scroll-bars and such but no icons or pointers and so on? The appearance-window tells me that the theme wont look as it supposed to because I dont have the gtk icontheme "" installed? Or sometimes the right gtk themeengine "" installed? What do i do? Am I missing some sort of program or engine? I installed my Ubuntu through this internet site: http://wubi-installer.org/ and not a cd, could that be a part of the problem maybe?

PS.
One theme that I really want to install is the Gaia Nova, found at: http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php/Gaia+Nova?content=75930
Anyone feel like explaining how to in detail for me?

Therion
April 16th, 2009, 05:08 PM
Well you are correct in that dragging and dropping the tarball onto the Theme Manager will install MOST themes correctly. Most.

If you get the message that the theme will not display correctly because you do not have the, for instance, Pixbuf, engine installed then yes, you need to install a specific rendering engine (there are several). Same for the icon theme. Some themes will suggest a particular icon theme (icon themes are separate from GTK themes) and would need to be installed separately.

To confuse matters further, some themes ONLY modify things like the toolbars and sliders; leaving your Window borders and such unchanged. It all depends on the theme.