PDA

View Full Version : [kde] Dual Monitors on Opensource ATI driver works in gnome not KDE/XFCE (9.04 beta)



brendan.lefoll
April 15th, 2009, 12:35 PM
My problem is simple, I can get dual head working fine on my fanless ATI HD4550 if I use gnome.

My card has a DVI, a HDMI and a VGA. I use the VGA and DVI, but on KDE both screens are seen as the same. SO when i click detect screens it shows VGA-0/DVI-0 on both screens.

So its pretty confused.

XFCE only sees one screen. and basically clones them.

here is my xorg.conf file

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Configured Screen Device"
Device "Configured Video Device"
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 3840 1200
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

And the output of xrandr -q

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 3840 x 1200
VGA-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
1920x1200 60.0*+
1600x1200 60.0
1280x1024 75.0 60.0
1152x864 75.0
1024x768 75.0 60.0
800x600 75.0 60.3
640x480 75.0 59.9
720x400 70.1
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
1920x1200 60.0*+
1600x1200 60.0
1280x1024 75.0 60.0
1152x864 75.0
1024x768 75.0 60.0
800x600 75.0 60.3
640x480 75.0 59.9
720x400 70.1

Any help would be appreciated!

edit : I have tried
xrandr --output DVI-0 --right-of VGA-0 --auto
but It does nothing.

markbuntu
April 15th, 2009, 10:30 PM
I have the same problem with KDE on Jaunty with my HD3650 using the radeonhd driver. There is a very excellent explanation for setting multiple monitors in the KDE help but the actual place to do it is missing from the system settings.

Is this a bug or a feature?

yourexhalekiss
January 25th, 2010, 08:04 AM
Any luck? I'm having the same problem - dual 1920x1200 monitors appearing as clones instead of separate. I have a Radeon HD 4830.