PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Terminal Service Client and Card Reader Login

randyklein99
April 11th, 2009, 11:23 AM
I'm trying to login to my work computer. It requires first a VPN with a DOD CAC using a card reader and pin. Then a remote desktop connection using the same CAC and pin.

I have successfully followed the instructions here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=564763) to establish a VPN connection through a web-based Cisco anyconnect.

But all my attempts at a remote desktop connection failed because I don't have the option of logging in with the CAC and pin.

The only google searches I have found that address this problem is this one (http://symbolik.wordpress.com/2007/02/25/smartcards-dod-cac-and-rdp-with-rdesktop-15x/).

But I'm new to linux, so I may not be following the guide that well. I especially don't know what step 2 is all about.

Any ideas?

randyklein99
April 21st, 2009, 11:02 PM
So I finally figure it out, or all my random tinkering since the OP did it by magic. But I think what made it work was the following interpretation to the second hyper link in the OP:
1. downloaded the rdesktop to /usr/local/src instead of /home
2. a -- looks like a long dash in my browser

Those two things seemed to do the trick. So now I can rdesktop -r scard server just fine.

And if anyone reading this knows knows, must you download files into that directory?

randyklein99
April 21st, 2009, 11:04 PM
Also, is there a way to integrate the "-r scard" parameter in the Terminal Server Client?

randyklein99
April 30th, 2009, 01:10 AM
Ok, I think I have figured it out. Apparently it was the random tinkering that did it and not what I mentioned above. But I have been able re-tinker the randomness after a clean install of Jaunty.

Hopefully this isn't only my application-specific instructions. But if it is, rest assured that this will allow you to VPN into AFIT's servers and then rdesktop to one of the terminal servers using only your DoD CAC and pin.