PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] partman shows nothing??



Loser777
April 10th, 2009, 03:02 AM
Trying to install 8.10 on a system here, but when it gets to the partman part of the install, there are no partitions or volumes in the table. All of the options to modify or create partitions are also greyed out... The drive I'm attempting to reformat and install on is a 640GB SATA II (Currently formatted as NTFS)
I know the drive is fine because Windows will boot fine and it is detected by BIOS just fine.
Causes?Fixes?

ronparent
April 10th, 2009, 03:27 AM
I have been warning people that such an appearence indicates that they are probably dealing with two drives in a raid0 array. You can verify this by opening a terminal after booting to your live cd and running 'sudo sfdisk -l'. If you do have two drives the output from this command will show them. Unless we can confirm otherwise, do not attempt an install from that disk. Only an alternative cd can deal with a raid array!

Loser777
April 10th, 2009, 03:36 AM
I'm 100% sure that I do not have a RAID array. After building this PC in June '08, I've never even partitioned the hard drive, much less created a raid array.

I just burned a 9.04 CD to see if that would help... now I'm getting the "Exit Code 10" from partman.

ronparent
April 10th, 2009, 03:43 AM
Good enough for me. Are you running vista? How many primary partitions do you have? Try postint he output from 'susd sfdisk -i'.

Loser777
April 10th, 2009, 03:46 AM
No, XP 64-bit SP2.
Just 1 Primary partion; NTFS.
Output from sudo sdfisk -l:
Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 0+ 77823 77824- 625121248+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/sda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/sda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty