PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help accsesing external hard drive. Complete stranger to linux.

flyandspider
April 9th, 2009, 09:04 AM
If anyone could help me access the files on my external harddrive that would be great. I have a sea gate 250GB external. It shows up at the places tab but when I click message "Cannot mount volume" appears. Need simple step instructions I am a complete noob when it comes to linux. THANKS.

coolcupid
April 9th, 2009, 09:29 AM
Is it a NTFS filesystem?
use ntfs-3g

coffeecat
April 9th, 2009, 01:02 PM
Is it a NTFS filesystem?
use ntfs-3g

coolcupid, Do you really think that's helpful to someone who describes themself as a 'complete noob'?

flyandspider, I've come across a few threads where people experience trouble mounting a Seagate USB drive which mounts OK in Windows. Every different make of USB drive I've ever plugged into Ubuntu has been mounted fine, so I suspect there may be some issue with the Seagate firmware that's interfering with the Linux USB driver. I don't have any direct experience because I have a severe allergy to all things Seagate. :wink:

Anyway, let's do some investigation. Normally, when you plug a USB drive in, an icon will appear on your desktop and a file browser window will open automatically. Have you got another USB drive (a flash stick would do fine), to test this to make sure this functionality isn't broken somehow?

Next, plug in your Seagate drive, and open a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal). Type in this command:

sudo fdisk -lYou'll be prompted for your password which won't be echoed to the screen. (Don't worry - it is going in.) Now post the output. You can copy and paste but the keyboard shortcut for copy in the terminal in Shift-Ctrl-C. And enclose the output in
tags to preserve the formatting.

flyandspider
April 10th, 2009, 10:12 PM
Disk /dev/sda: 3791 MB, 3791241216 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 460 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes