PDA

View Full Version : Confusion about storage and C++ Global variables

MaxVK
April 7th, 2009, 02:03 PM
Note: Please be gentle - very new C++ developer!

I am just starting out with C++, having been through a variety of languages both on Windows and now on Linux. I am using Code::Blocks and wxWidgets.

I have searched for information about Global variables and found that they are frowned upon. Fair enough, Ill learn that lesson, but I am still left with a consideration:

When using other languages for a basic learning project such as a small scale text editor, when I wanted to keep a track of the current filename etc, I would place it in a global variable. This has always worked for me.

In C++ this is not correct, so my question is really - Where/How do I store this filename so that it can be pulled from the ether when it is required?

regards

Max

dwhitney67
April 7th, 2009, 02:32 PM
Within a class object.

This class object could be called "File". It could have attributes like filename, file attributes, file size, current edit position, etc.

In turn, another class object, say Editor, would contain one or more File objects. It is possible to edit more than one file at a time, right?

Anyhow, global variables suck.

Arndt
April 7th, 2009, 03:37 PM
Within a class object.

This class object could be called "File". It could have attributes like filename, file attributes, file size, current edit position, etc.

In turn, another class object, say Editor, would contain one or more File objects. It is possible to edit more than one file at a time, right?

Anyhow, global variables suck.

I'd like to add that global variables become a problem in any language, if allowed to proliferate and misused for communicating between functions/modules. Interfaces become unclean, which makes understanding and developing them harder. So the reasons for avoiding them are pretty much the same in C++ as elsewhere.