PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia Driver Issue!!!

tampablendie
April 7th, 2009, 01:11 PM
Hey guys I'm relatively new to Ubuntu and have run into a serious video driver problem. I downloaded the install file from Nvidia specifically for my platform. I disabled X by running

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop

I then ran the install file

sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-180.44-pkg2.run

Upon restart there is a header saying that it is checking battery life( don't know why because this is not a laptop??) then there seems to be an error message saying something like

running local boot scripts etc/rc.local

I'm not a hundred percent on that as the error whips by, and is then followed by a window stating that my video driver is not configured and that I am in low graphics mode. So I configure the video driver and go to desktop.

I have tried to go to the menu item nvidia xconfig settings. But it always gives me an error stating that I'm not running an x config file and to run

nvidia-xconfig

which I do and still I can't get into nvidia xconfig settings. So I disabled the proprietary drivers in hardware settings and restarted. Everything booted up alright with no errors, so I tried to enable the proprietary drivers again and rebooted.

Now the system crashes everytime I try to boot with multicolored screen.

Help!! Thanks in advance guys!

How do I get rid of the manual install I tried and get the program "Hardware Drivers" to work again??

madverb
April 7th, 2009, 01:45 PM
try doing a manual reinstall of the nvidia drivers

sudo apt-get install nvidia-177-kernel-source

tampablendie
April 7th, 2009, 07:21 PM